Is it–can it be–a book review?

It is.

I read A Celtic Miscellany recently, which is a collection of Welsh, Irish and Scottish Gaelic, Cornish, Breton, and Manx poetry and prose selected and translated by Kenneth Hurlstone Jackson. It’s aptly named; this collection is definitely a hodgepodge. Some of it is brilliant:

I shall not go to my bed tonight, my love is not in it; I shall lie on the gravestone–break, if you must, my poor heart. There is nothing between him and me tonight but earth and coffin and shroud; I have been further many a time, but never with a heavier heart.–Welsh; traditional verses; seventeenth century?

Some of it is wryly entertaining:

The world has laid low, and the wind blows away like ashes Alexander, Caesar, and all who were in their trust; grass-grown is Tara, and see Troy now how it is–and the English themselves, perhaps they too will pass!–Irish; author unknown; seventeenth-eighteenth century.

Granted, some of it is dull too, and I was disappointed that so many of the selections were fairly modern (sixteenth through eighteenth centuries) when I was hoping for more of the older, harder-to-find Celtic poetry of the first thousand years AD. Some of the excerpts seemed to leave off in odd spots. Overall, though, I enjoyed the somewhat random assembly of stories and poetry.

In other bookish news, I’m hooked.  Giving books away is almost as fun as getting them. This time I’m offering a free autographed paperback copy of The Battle of Castle Nebula, volume I in The Cendrillon Cycle!

Goodreads Book Giveaway

The Battle of Castle Nebula by Stephanie Ricker

The Battle of Castle Nebula

by Stephanie Ricker

Giveaway ends July 17, 2016.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter Giveaway

 

