Another insanely busy week!  Apparently that’s just the new normal around here.  Waking up to a flooded apartment on Tuesday was less normal–our neighbor’s hot water heater leaked into our apartment and flooded the kitchen and part of the living room–but we seem to have that situation rectified by means of a shop vac and giant fans.  Lucky did not enjoy any part of that.  We weren’t hugely thrilled either, but I like mold a whole lot less.

In somewhat related news, this spring/summer will be the first one in five years during which I won’t be moving!  Our rent only went up slightly, so we can actually afford to stay put for once.  I’m ridiculously excited about that…and I’m wondering if maybe it’s time for a new bookshelf to celebrate not hauling books up and down stairs.  I hate when my shelves get so full that I start having to lay books horizontally on top of vertical books, and we’re definitely there right now.

I really can’t complain about being busy when it’s for such good reasons: this week was full of absolutely fantastic times with friends, including a visit to the Langdon farm, one to Rooglewood, and one to a new friend’s house for dinner and a movie. (Do yourself a favor and just don’t ever watch Starship Troopers.  I’m serious.  It was heinous, and the only enjoyment to gain from it is to tear it apart with like-minded individuals.)  All the same, trying to get my work done in between these social engagements has led to considerable sleep deprivation.  I made my bed after church, took a long look at said bed…and crawled back in until 1:00.  It’s a rainy, lazy day, and I’ve mainly slept, drunk tea, and talked with friends online.  Can’t beat that for a Saturday.

Literature:

Heart-warming:

Fascinating:

Know this:

Music:

 Books: I’ve been reading A Passage to India by E.M. Forster for what feels like my entire life.  I blithely packed a slew of books for my Richmond trip, thinking that I would have downtime to read, and then I didn’t even have a chance to crack a book open once during the whole week.  What I’ve managed to read of Passage so far (which isn’t even half of it) has been intriguing.  The book is a good look at India and British Imperialism during the 1920s, and I’m enjoying the perspective on Indian culture, so different from our own.  I’ll attempt to come up with something more intelligent to say about the book after finishing it, if I ever manage to do so.

