Ugh, I think I’m finally through laughing/crying/screaming at the Doctor Who Christmas Special and the Sherlock mini-episode prequel, which is fortunate, because afterward I had to sigh over the Downton Abbey Christmas Special and prepare myself for the Call the Midwife Christmas Special.  Hallelujah for British television or I really wouldn’t know what to do with myself over the holidays.

Which isn’t, strictly speaking, true: I spent the rest of the break downing tea and writing like a madwoman, and I had a lovely day with the family in which we tromped around Reservoir Park with my parents’ scruffy little dog Freddie.  I also had quite the adventure in Durham last Saturday.  I didn’t know how much downtown Durham and I didn’t get along–turns out it’s quite a bit.  I parked an age away from where we were supposed to meet due to a combination of one-way streets and my own ignorance.  The parking garage attendant was lovely, though.  He said to park cost three dollars, cash only, so I looked downcast and asked how best to get out of the garage, since I didn’t have cash.  He laughed and said he would let me in since I had an honest face.  I’ll take that as a compliment.  Our group did finally reach Bull McCabe’s Irish Pub, which serves (among many other things) delicious curry chicken and chips.  Afterwards we had more adventures in parking trying to locate the theater, but did ultimate see and thoroughly enjoy The Man Who Was Thursday, complete with the elephant chase.

Bizarre:

Beautiful:

Music:

Books:  For inexplicable reasons, I wanted to re-read Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O’Brien.  Sadly, this is another book that does not survive adult re-reading as well as I’d hoped.  It was still enjoyable, but I’d forgotten just how bland Mrs. Frisby was and just how open-ended they left everything.  Did Justin survive??  Who was the other rat who died??  I must know!!

I’ve been plodding my way through The Golden Apples by Eudora Welty for what seems an eternity.  I think I’ve been indulging in a little too much Welty lately, or maybe this just isn’t as good as her other works, but for some reason I’m bored stiff.  The chapters are like very long, very uneventful short stories that more or less all tie together into one timeline, and I know I read “Moon Lake” in another collection.  I was unimpressed that time too.  Nothing happens, and it takes such a long time doing it–a good bit of the action that does take place is seemingly random or at least without consequences.

Goodness, I’m such a Gloomy Gus of a reader this week!  I should find something nice to read to brighten my outlook and round out the year.  One book more and I’ll meet my Goodreads goal!

