I am pleasantly surprised but completely baffled by the phenomenal increase in traffic around these parts.  What the heck are you all doing here?  I’m normally fortunately to get ten visitors on any given day.  My best day ever was 44, and that’s because Anne Elisabeth was kind enough to link to me.  Until Tuesday, that is, when I inexplicably had 66 visitors, all (apparently) searching for the same quote from The Fall of Arthur by Tolkien.  You all just HAD to know how the line “Arthur eastward in arms purposed” ended on a Tuesday afternoon?  I feel badly now for not posting more on the work, because if you came here looking for Tolkien scholarship, you were probably sadly disappointed.  (Though there is plenty of Tolkien fangirling, I can assure you.)

It’s been a pretty good week!  Aside from the lovely blog interest, there were all sorts of lunches and whatnot at work (all it really takes to make me happy is food, apparently).  My company may work us like dogs 11 months out of the year, but December is nothing but free food and parties.  We had an association dinner at The State Club, a company lunch at Biaggi’s, and lunch at a big trade show.  On Monday we’re attending yet another lunch at Jimmy V’s.  Pretending to live the posh life for a week or two here, then it’s back to packing sandwiches to work.  This weekend will be even better, though, since I’ll be going to the annual viewing of It’s a Wonderful Life at the Langdon farm.

Hilarity:

Geekery:

Fascinating:

Miscellaneous:

Books: I read God’s Men by Pearl Buck this week, but I’m not quite sure what I think of it yet.  As always, Buck is extremely talented, and she takes what would be an off-putting topic for any other author and makes it very compelling.  And yet…there’s an “and yet.”  I ended up dragging myself through the book and was glad when the story ended, even though individual lines moved me.  The difficulty may lie in the fact that most of the characters are unlikable or unrelatable.  Characters don’t have to be either, but it does help in terms of keeping the reader engaged.  The story explores the lives of two men, both the sons of (very different) missionaries, both pursuing two very different paths in life, but ultimately both consumed with a driving hunger to affect the world in some way.  Buck’s works are often set in a religious context but are not themselves religious, which is in a way similar to Buck’s life: she was the daughter of missionaries in China, but had a somewhat troubled relationship with religion.  There are no pat answers (or possibly any answers) in the book, which is true to life, if a tad unsatisfying.  I’ll have to think about the work more.

