The Mutemath concert was indeed on the 24th, and after parking a zillion blocks away, I joined the crowd of slightly nervous freshmen around the stage.  I don’t feel very far removed from college at all, but as I realized that I was about eight years older than most of the masses around me, I felt like the interloper at the kids’ table.  I went alone, which actually probably helped me to blend in better; a lot of the freshmen clearly didn’t really know anyone yet, so we all stood awkwardly by ourselves, bobbing our heads to the music.  For a free concert, the show was great–but if I’d paid a lot of money, I would’ve been sad.  The vocals were almost inaudible over the drums during some songs.  It was still a fun experience, even if one over-bold, socially inept freshman did start playing with my hair halfway through the concert (what the heck, dude?).

On Thursday we had a long, LONG overdue reunion of the Literary League, complete with tiramisu ice cream, chocolate, tea, and blueberries.  We didn’t read any selections–it had been so long since we got together, we mostly just needed to catch up–but we did talk extensively about books and writing.  We need more of the same, and soon!

Over the long weekend, I’m going to spend time with family and friends in the Charlotte area.  I hope you have a similarly good Labor Day!

Hilarity:

Know this:

Literature:

Music:

Books: I’m just finishing up Sailing to Sarantium by Guy Gavriel Kay, first in his Sarantine Mosaic duology.  (I think I may always use “duology” from now on to describe a book and its sequel, what a neat word.)  Historical fantasy as a genre might as well have been created for me; it basically consists of everything I love.  Kay is a wonder at making historical time periods come to life and then subtly, surprisingly working bits of fantasy into them.  This duology takes place in the equivalent of the Byzantine Empire, and it is a feast for a history fan.  As I read along, things feel familiar, and it’s great fun to match up fictional characters with their historical counterparts.  I realized, for example, that one of the characters is essentially the Emperor Justinian.  “But if he’s Justinian, that means she’s…ooo, I get it.”  Suffice it to say, I’m madly in love with Sarantium and will need to dig up the next book posthaste.

