If you like Shakespeare, Appalachian music, or any combination thereof, you should come check out As You Like It by Bare Theater!  At the very least, watch the trailer because it’s adorable.

I had a brush with heart failure the other night.  When I moved to my new apartment, I hung a large, heavy picture above my bed.  (You can probably see where this is going already.)  Since it was so heavy, I put a hefty nail in the stud to hold it.  It hung there peacefully for two months without so much as a wobble, until about 3:00am Saturday night when it came crashing down like a guillotine in the two-inch space between the wall and my headboard.  Let me tell you, that is not the best way to wake up.  I was fairly certain the apartment was being demolished around my ears, but once I discovered that wasn’t the case, I went back to sleep.  In the morning I discovered that the picture had sliced down hard enough to knock the electrical outlet partly out of the wall.  The nail was where it was supposed to be, and the picture hanger didn’t break, so apparently the picture just wiggled its way off the nail.  I hung it again (more securely, I hope), but if I die from decapitation in the near future, you’ll know how it happened.

I went to a book signing for my amazing friend Anne Elisabeth Stengl this week, which was lovely as always.  Her husband made some sort of obscenely good chocolate coffee cheesecake, so we ate and hung out at the Barnes and Noble afterwards.  I feel like I’ve done quite well in my friendships: I’m pals with accomplished authors and fantastic chefs.

I, sadly, am not a fantastic chef, but I was very brave this week and made edible books for an upcoming book-and-tea-themed baby shower (I also have friends who choose books and tea as their baby shower theme–aren’t you jealous?).  They were indeed edible!  Triumph.

Geekery:

Music:

Books: My review of 2001: A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke should be prefaced by the statement that I did see the movie, but I was a little kid at the time.  My recollection is hazy, but I do recall tremendous amounts of nothing happening (albeit very beautifully) for long periods of time.  I need to rewatch it now, I think.  The book is very similar to the movie in that nothing persists in happening for long stretches.  Before reading 2001, I felt rather ambivalently towards Clarke  in general.  The only other book I’ve read by him was Dolphin Island, which was rife with exclamation point overuse and abuse.  2001 didn’t suffer from that, fortunately, though it was incredibly slow-moving to the point of being dull.  At the same time, I can see why it stands as a scifi classic.  A lot of the premises seem worn now, but only because 2001 was among the first to use them and everyone else since has copied the ideas.  There was a lot of good stuff in 2001, and it’s encouraging me to rethink my opinions of Clarke.

