My quiet week turned into a busy week!  We hosted the discipleship program at our apartment on Wednesday, and on Thursday I went to the NC State Library book sale, had dinner at Coffee and Crepes with a friend, and went to the Star Trek screening on Thursday.  On Friday my car started shrieking and grinding, but I tempted fate and went out one more time for dinner at some friends’ house.  I spent almost $1000 on Monday in car repairs and supposedly had my brakes replaced, but this sure sounds like more brake trouble to me.  On Monday I’ll get it checked out.

I’ve been doing feature writing for Success by Association for a year or so, and I found out that in return for my work, the Association Executives of North Carolina have offered to pay for registration, hotel, and gas money for their annual meeting in Asheville in June.  I’ve never been to Asheville, but it looks like a fascinating place.  I’m particularly tempted by the zip line tours…

Fascinating:

Hilarity:

Music:

  • “Youth” by Daughter.
  • “Step” by Vampire Weekend.
  • This little speaker is blowing my mind.  I bought one as a gift for my brother, and after seeing (hearing) it in action, I went straight back out to get one for myself.  The sound is unbelievable for something so tiny, and it’s great for boosting laptop sound or for listening to mp3s in the car.  It fits in the cup holder perfectly.  (I promise I wasn’t paid for this ringing endorsement, I’m just really enthused about this little guy.)

Books:I finished In Dubious Battle on the plane from Boston.  Spoilers: my previous prediction was not wrong.  After that I read The Short Reign of Pippin IV by Steinbeck, which was billed as being hilarious.  Parts of it were amusing, but it was not a comedy…sometimes I wonder if the people who write back-of-the-book blurbs have even read the thing.  It was acceptable but not as brilliant as I’ve come to expect from Steinbeck.

After four Steinbeck novels in a row, I was ready for a change, so I’m back to L.A. Meyer’s Bloody Jack series.  I’m just finishing up Mississippi Jack: Being an Account of the Further Waterborne Adventures of Jacky Faber, Midshipman, Fine Lady, and Lily of the West, which chronicles Jacky’s adventures as a riverboat captain on the Mississippi.  The book is of dubious plausibility (not to mention historical accuracy) at times, but it’s highly entertaining and a nice, light-hearted break.

