I’m off to Boston on Monday for exciting adventures!  And by exciting adventures, I mean a business meeting.  But I’m hoping to shoehorn a few excursions in, between working 12-hour days and sleeping.  Boston is lovely, and it’d be a shame to miss it entirely.

You know you’re old and boring when the most exciting event of your week is buying new luggage, but seriously, I’m really excited about this.  I hoarded my coupons/rewards/etc. and got a fantastic set (originally $230) for only $60, which I feel was a tremendous accomplishment.

Oh yeah, and I signed the papers for a new apartment!  Still way less exciting than the luggage.  I’ll be moving in mid-May, and before that I’m going to perform a massive purge of all unnecessary books and clothes–which means I’ll be getting rid of lots of clothes and very few books, if my history is anything to go by.  It’s the thought that counts for these things, I’m told.

Fascinating:

Hilarious:

Musical:

Books: Still plowing ravenously through all of the Steinbeck that the library possesses.  The Pearl was full of the tragic inevitability that I’m coming to associate with Steinbeck.  I think Hemingway touched on that in The Old Man in the Sea, but…Steinbeck does it infinitely better.  I imagine that’s probably why he was so fond of the Arthurian legends: beautiful tragedy is their specialty.  I just started Steinbeck’s In Dubious Battle, and I suspect at least someone will die in a lovely, fateful way.

Speaking of Arthurian legends, I also read Steinbeck’s Tortilla Flat, which is essentially an Arthurian tale, if Arthur and his knights were alcoholic paisanos living in California instead of Camelot.  Though the debauchery of Danny and his friends ultimately wore a little thin, parts of the story were excellent.  Steinbeck’s introduction reminded me considerably of my friends; he states that he wrote the story so that in the future, scholars wouldn’t scoff and say that such characters were only myths.

