Lots of good times with family and friends this week!  I had a wonderful Passover and First Day of Unleavened Bread, and I even got to spend some time with my oh-so-cool brother. My batch of unleavened bread turned out kind of mediocre.  I bake so infrequently that making it required a ten-minute intense search throughout the kitchen for my rolling pin, which I haven’t used since last Days of UB.  I guess it’s somewhat miraculous that the bread was edible at all. : )

This week’s philosophy discussion was at the Busy Bee Café, which appears to be the illegitimate offspring of a bar and a coffee shop, raised by a good-natured restaurant.  They were out of their mead and cider and I didn’t feel like beer, so I ended up getting coffee around 8pm, which was a delicious and terrible mistake.   I always tell myself I’ll never drink coffee past 6pm again, and I always do anyway and bitterly regret it when I can’t sleep for most of the night.   While sleep was evading me, I got to wondering what animals must think about human eyes.  The whites of our eyes are always showing, unlike those of animals; do they think we’re perpetually afraid or upset?  I ended up on a Wikipedia rabbit trail, and I learned that domesticated dogs are the only animals that pick up visual cues from another individual’s eyes.  Dogs don’t communicate that way with other dogs—just with humans—and wild dogs don’t do it at all.  Fascinating…

Intriguing:

Hilarity:

Music:

Books: I’m reading Four Ways to Forgiveness by Ursula K. LeGuin, and after getting past the schmaltzy title, I’m really enjoying it.  The book consists of four separate stories of varying lengths that are loosely connected by location, time, and character.  While in the throes of my over-caffeination, I sped through the second story during the wee hours of the morning.  So far the stories, while compelling, aren’t quite as good as those in the collection I just finished, but I suspect they’ll all solidify at the end into something more unified and coherent.

