I’ve been restless all throughout this overly quiet week.  My life is really quite eventful, so I don’t know what I’m complaining about, but still it seems like something big needs to happen.  I’m sure I’ll rue those words–I can hear all of you shouting, “Be careful what you wish for!” from here–but the transitions into spring and fall always make me want to ditch everything familiar and travel the world or join the circus or something.

Just as I was falling asleep one night, I heard a cacophony of howls and snarls from the direction of Lake Johnson, rising to a crescendo before falling off abruptly.  I’m guessing  a coyote or feral dog pack brought down some animal.  It’s so odd to hear those wild sounds right in the middle of overly civilized Raleigh.  I’ll have to be careful when walking Gentry at night; he would certainly be no help at all if something attacked us.  He’s very sweet and very, very cowardly.  His girlfriend Greta, on the other hand, is a dog you want on your side in a fight.  If they were humans, Greta would be a tall, burly German girl who is into martial arts, and Gentry would be a slender, soulful-eyed poet who skates through life on his good looks.  The relationship would be rather unhealthy, I fear; Greta has a tendency to slam Gentry into the sides of parked cars when she plays.  I don’t know what the human equivalent of that would be, but she definitely wears the pants in the relationship.

Miscellany of the week:

Books: I’ve read excerpts of The Confessions of St. Augustine before and was unimpressed, but there was a lovely copy at Mr. Mike’s Used Books, and it’s a classic, so…guess what I’m reading now.  Some lines are very quotable, and one has to admire the openness and honesty with which it was written.  I still can’t quite seem to get over my dislike, however.  I’m only on Book 5; maybe I’ll come around to Augustine yet.

