Big news lately!  I’m now an associate editor for Stengl Editing!  To say I’m excited is a massive understatement.  As a second job, this certainly beats retail work at Target.  I’m already hard at work on my first editing project, and so far everything is going swimmingly.

The Tir Na Nog gathering was every bit as marvelous as I’d hoped, and afterwards we had a grand time hanging out at the apartment.  Sarah made a Thai iced tea cake with a maple pecan glaze, which was out of this world, as you might well imagine.  The cake was also surprisingly hearty; I’ve been working on trying to finish it for ages because it’s so filling.  Like lembas, one piece keeps a full-grown man going for days.  This is cake for the apocalypse, and I can imagine a group of people celebrating with this before going out to kill zombies.  In a dystopian future, you need a cake that sticks to your ribs, and none of your typical frosted fluff.  Sarah excels at improbable yet delicious recipes; I bet she could make a great roast out of radiation-mutated giant rats.  I definitely want her on my side in the event of a collapse of civilization.  She came over on Wednesday to teach us how to make tiramisu, which was equal parts fun and delicious.

Hilarity:

Aww:

Intriguing:

Music:

Books: Sam gave me a gorgeous copy of Dangerous Work: Diary of an Arctic Adventure by Arthur Conan Doyle. What a neat look into Doyle’s life!  The book includes facsimiles of the diary itself, so you can read the story in Doyle’s own handwriting (sometimes with a quill pen, sometimes with a fountain pen).  He made a lot of illustrations, most of which are gory depictions of seal and whale hunting, but with occasional, beautiful drawings of ships or the crew members.  In 1880 when Doyle sailed, the whaling industry was already waning, but it was still the livelihood of quite a few coastal towns, and the diary is a fascinating look at a time period that’s difficult to imagine today.

I’ve just finished Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes, which everyone but me seems to have read in high school.  It was well done, but not amazingly so.  Maybe I’m just biased because the main character spends the majority of the time being completely unlikable (I know, I know, that’s the point).  I also got the impression it contained more pop psychology than actual, scientifically supported information, but I’m probably just being too picky.  The ending was still good, if predictably very sad.

