Tomorrow I’m going once again to see Star Trek: TNG on the big screen, this time for the Season 2 Blu Ray release.  They’re showing pretty good episodes this time, I threw together a rockin’ Season 2 Troi costume, and I’m attending with a bunch of other geeks, so it should be a grand time.

Thanksgiving was, unsurprisingly, a blast.  I made Thanksgiving dinner like a big girl and felt very grown up to be hosting it for the first time.  I’ll confess, I did buy the turkey from Boston Market, but I made most of the other dishes.  Everything was good, and on one died from food poisoning, so I’m calling it a success.  After dinner we all watched Mr. Smith Goes to Washington and played with the Gentry; really, nothing is better than Jimmy Stewart and a puppy.

There have been several other lovely adventures lately, including trips to Gimghoul Castle, thrifting, and the Celtic jam session at Tir Na Nog.  I’ve been enjoying every minute of the cooler weather.  The heat went out at the office one day, and I didn’t even notice.

In what is a momentous event for me but not for anyone else, I cut off a foot of my hair to sell.  It feels drastically different to me, but it’s still pretty long so most people haven’t even noticed.  I’ve had some offers, but none that I want to accept (most want way more than 12″ of hair), so I’m sitting tight for the moment.  A month before the big chop, I did an interview with Elizabeth at The Contagious Introvert, so check that out if you’re into hair geekery.

Hilarity:

Geekery:

Motion:

Music:

Books: Against my better judgment, I checked out The God of the Hive by Laurie King from the library.   I thought that this, the tenth book, was the most recent in her Holmes series; it turns out there have actually been two more after this one (heaven help us).  I probably won’t bother reading them.  The first book in the series, The Beekeeper’s Apprentice, was brilliant, as were the next few.  Quality declined in each successive novel after that, however, until I could barely bring myself to finish this book.  I have a harder time finishing a mediocre novel than a terrible one, for some reason, and God of the Hive was a solidly mediocre finish to the alredy-dull storyline set up in The Language of Bees.

I polished up Second Foundation by Isaac Asimov, which was enjoyable, barring the issues I discussed in my last post.  I’d forgotten just how convoluted Asimov can be, and it had been long enough since I first read the trilogy that I could have fun trying to figure out the true answer before Asimov revealed it.

I had the pleasure of reading Starflower, by my friend and fellow Campbellite, Anne Elisabeth Stengl.  Don’t let the girly cover and title fool you; this story is intense. The stories coming out of Goldstone Wood just keep getting better and better. While I loved the intricacy of the plot connections in the third book, I loved Starflower as a novel even more than I did Moonblood. This is due largely in part to Starflower herself, who is a fascinating character and one of my favorites in the series so far. She experiences her fair share of fear and doubt, but she doesn’t fall prey to these weaknesses, and her character develops over the course of the book in a believable and enthralling way. This book explores several aspects that had intrigued me in the previous novels, including the fairy realms and their leaders. I had always hoped to see more of Eanrin as well, and we certainly get plenty of him in Starflower–his character grows even more than that of Starflower. The world-building in this novel felt the most realistic in the series to date. Learning more details about the fairy world helped to solidify my interest in that realm, but I found myself most fascinated by the portions of the story describing the Land and the people in it. Grounding the story in “our” world made both realms seem more real to me. Stengl has achieved a fine balance of tempering whimsical fantasy with a healthy dose of reality, and the result is extremely compelling. I’m eagerly awaiting the next installment, Dragonwitch.

I’m currently rereading The Hobbit, prepatory to seeing the midnight showing of the movie (in full Galadriel costume, no less) on December 14th.  Such a delightful book!  It’s been years since I’ve read it, and reading it again is like spending time with an old friend.  It’s been far too long, Bilbo.

