Last week was super-eventful to make up for the preceding week’s lack of excitement!  It was so eventful, in fact, that I did not blog at all, as you may not have noticed.

My story reading went—well, it went, that’s certain.  I was immensely glad when it was over, for a variety of reasons.  It will be a hilarious story one day when it stings a little less.  Still, my name is on the cover of a magazine in the Cary Barnes and Noble, among other places, and it will take more than a rather awkward public speaking experience to diminish that particular thrill, believe me.

Last week’s Monday was, as always, an excellent meeting for Latin lesson/Ovid discussion/coffee consumption.  On Wednesday I went to see a play at NC State, The Arabian Nights, based off of the collection of old tales.  I devoured those stories when I was little, though now I’m wondering if I was really so oblivious to the raunchy nature of several of them, or if the actors were just hamming it up.  Occasional off-color joke notwithstanding, there are some fabulous tales in there.

On Friday a couple friends and I participated in Improv Everywhere’s annual Mp3 Experiment in Raleigh.  The NC Science Museum was opening a new wing and hosting a street fair in honor of the event (and, apparently, of Earth Day), so we had a large audience of baffled non-participants in the experiment.  I have to say, if you ever have a chance to join in on one of these things…do it!  I had a BLAST.  We square danced, thumb-wrestled, froze in place, took a nap in the street, played human twister, and generally bewildered the heck out of anyone who saw us.  It’s amazing how engaging in silly behavior with a crowd of other people brightens your view of humanity.  Everyone had a big smile and was having so much good, clean fun.  I even hugged strangers.  (I know, right?)  After the event, Sarah, Alissa, and I took silly pictures with the vaguely famous statues in front of the Museum of History and wandered the streets of Raleigh, which made us feel like college kids again.

This week was less spectacularly exciting, but still quite nice.  Latin was at Sunni Skies, and I think the ablative absolute is immensely improved by rootbeer ice cream.  On Sunday I intend to go strawberry-picking and kitten-viewing, which will be delightful.

Forgive me, the internet seems to have accumulated…

Bookishness:

Things you should know about:
Adventure:
Hilarity:
Binging on Cracked.com this week:
Music:

I have been shockingly remiss in my reading of late.  Still ambling through Wolfram von Eschenbach.  I really love this guy, though.  Fantastic name aside (I really want to name a pet Wolfram), he’s also just hilarious and not at all a bad writer.  Still, anything translated from 13th century Middle High German is bound to be a little on the heavy side, I think, and it’s taking me forever to get through it.

