Dang.  That Wake County book sale shindig was pretty fantastic and will definitely become an annual tradition.  I grabbed two bags full of books, including all sorts of gems like Susanna Clarke’s The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories, the Epic of Gilgamesh, The Crucible by Arthur Miller, a fair bit of Mary Stewart, and a whole bunch of Louis L’Amour westerns, among other things (shush, don’t judge me).

Pretty please come to my story reading next Sunday if you’re in the area and like scifi!  I will probably fixate on your friendly face so as to make myself feel less nervous and make you feel more awkward, so it’ll be a lot of fun for everyone.

In other news, apartment-hunting continues apace, and we have a couple likely candidates.  My mixed feelings about this life development continue, but I’m resigned to my fate now. 😛

Miscellaneous:

Geekery:

Music:

Finally managed to polish off Schiller’s essays, which were really very good, they’re just terribly dense reading.  I particularly enjoyed his essay “On Tragedy,” however, and took notes in case I feel like writing an epic tragedy one day.  You know, sometimes you wake up and think, “Boy, today I really want to write something to make people cry buckets.”

Right now I’m reading Parzival by Wolfram von Eschenbach (I guess I don’t believe in light reading these days?), translated from Middle High German because I sadly do not speak that.  Written in the early 1200s or thereabouts, it’s loosely based on the Story of the Grail by Chretien de Troyes, but with a lot more sass.  Wolfram had some serious attitude, and he’s pretty hilarious, as Middle High German poets go.

