Lots of good books and good times with good friends lately. 🙂  We had a small Literary League meeting last weekend, in which we all shared a few of our favorite songs instead of our usual policy of sharing favorite stories and poems (see some of our music finds below).  Tonight a pack of us is going to see Casablanca at the theater in honor of the film’s 70th anniversary.  And we are absolutely dressing up in 40s clothes and hair, so expect some entertaining photos.  Next week is a massive book festival/book sale at the Raleigh fairgrounds.  I fully intend to go opening day for the good selection and again on the last day to load up on the discounted books.  This is serious business, folks; you have to strategize.

I’ll admit to being a little disheartened about spring’s arrival.  I used to love spring before I moved to NC.  Now it just heralds  5-6 months of being uncomfortable to varying degrees.  Always being too hot wears on one’s disposition after a while; I find I’m grouchier and snappier as the season progresses unless I make a conscious effort to be nice.  Still, the flowers are beautiful, and I enjoy a good thunderstorm, so I’m determined to look on the bright side and ignore the alarming clouds of yellow pollen.

Learning

Geekery

Everything else
  • Gemma Correll’s Drawings of Things, courtesy of Sarah.
  • Somehow I ended up running down a Youtube rabbit trail of Thermasilk commercials.  Before you mock…check a few of these things out, they’re quite lovely.
  • Too Late to Apologize: A Declaration.  You have to admit, they did a great job getting a guy who has a profile similar to that of Thomas Jefferson.  Rock those wigs, boys.  Though, I never noticed that there isn’t an Oxford comma in the “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness” line.  That really bothers me, now. >_<  See, if I had a time machine, I would be tempted to use it primarily to go back in time and correct grammar and punctuation errors, and this is why I I should not be given such power to wield.
  • The Sleepy Man Banjo Boys tackle “Dueling Banjos,” make you feel like you are a failure at life by comparison.

I went a little crazy and read all three Hunger Games books by Suzanne Collins in three days—the first two within the same 24-hour period.  I think I want to write a longer review of them, though, so I’ll save my thoughts on the trilogy for another day.  Suffice it to say, don’t start the series if you have anything pressing you need to accomplish; they’re like candy…very, very grim candy.

Right now I’m reading a book of essays by Friedrich Schiller, one of which (“On Naïve and Sentimental Poetry”) I read for one of my philosophy classes in school.  I was intrigued and always meant to go back and read the other essays, so I’m finally getting around to it.  Reading this while reading The Hunger Games is, I think, the definition of literary whiplash.  Excruciatingly different reading.  Schiller is so heavy, I can really only read 10 or 20 pages at a time before my mind just wanders away completely, but I really like him, and his ideas are fascinating.  I feel very erudite as I trudge along, trying to hang onto his coattails before he loses me entirely.

