Going on a fall walk soon!  It’s lovely today.  Wonderful time of year…  I’m so very, very excited about my trip to Michigan in 11 days.  Is it weird to start packing now?  Yes?  Hmm.

My fantastic friend Sarah gave me a TIE fighter kite, thus cementing her greatness in my book.  Must arrange for some good winds and an open space very soon.

Pardon me while I talk about television a wee bit.  Tonight is the finale for Doctor Who and the premier of the fourth season of Merlin!  I have high hopes.  Also, evidently the BFI is going to show a preview screening of the first new episode of Sherlock on December 6th, which leads me to predict the show will actually air for the British public in January of 2012.  *crosses fingers*

Ioan Gruffudd hopes Ringer does well so that he can use the popularity to raise interest and money to make more Hornblower movies.  YES.  YES YES YES.  You have my interest, sir.

Isaac Asimov’s The Caves of Steel headed to the big screen.  Cue conflicted euphoria and angst.  Will it be marvelous?  Will it be a travesty?  One never knows…

Jeb Corliss, one of my personal heroes, wingsuit flying through a hole in a mountain.

Aww:

Music:

So, I take back everything I said last week about The Mill on the Floss and a “long, leisurely story meandering to an inevitable resolution.”  The actual resolution was NOT what I thought we were building toward all of that time.  And it actually didn’t resolve anything.  I finished the book around midnight and couldn’t believe it was really the end.  Surely this can’t be right!  There was no one awake with whom to share my outrage and disbelief, so I had to go to sleep with my lone dissatisfaction.  I recently heard tell that Mill on the Floss is the favorite book of one of my old professors.  We’re going to have words about this.

I found a neat little book on Lord of the Rings filming locations at The Reader’s Corner the other day (I adore that place), and it was astoundingly thorough and would, I think, be extremely useful if one were planning a trip to New Zealand.  I’m not, but I thought it was fascinating anyway.  Definitely keeping for my one-day world travels.

At the same bookstore, I found a book on the making of the first four Horatio Hornblower movies.  Usually I’m not a big fan of those types of books; even when I love the movie/series, they seem a little dull.  Not so with this little gem.  It’s a tribute to the genius of the filmmakers that I had never once considered how they did some of those amazing scenes.  I now have a much greater appreciation for the shocking amount of work, time, and money put into those movies.  And the attention to detail!  I hadn’t thought about the difficulties of scenes requiring trained rats before.  I was always impressed by the historical accuracy of the productions, but after hearing the amount of research that went into them, my admiration knows no bounds.

Right now I’m working on Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson.  I realized belatedly that I’ve actually read it already.  I was very, very young (maybe 8?), so I don’t remember much, but every once in a while I hit a scene where I have an uncanny sensation of deja vu.  As soon as Davie started climbing the staircase in the thunder, it struck me (an impression, not the lightning) that I remembered THAT scene perfectly.  Pretty scary when you’re 8, I guess.

