I disbelieve anyone who says that the Raleigh area is currently in a drought.  I think I was caught in the rain three times last week.  Not that I’m complaining, mind you; I had a wonderful time puddle-hopping late one evening.

I’ve been rediscovering my love for and frustration with Turk’s Head knots lately, whilst working on a few projects.  The three-lead shown in the link isn’t too bad, but the five-lead is a quick ticket to insanity.  I used to be really into knotwork, back in the day; sadly now I’ve forgotten most of what I knew, but every once in a while I get the urge to tie knots in things.  Possibly this is the real reason I have long hair. 😀

The esteemed Literary League is meeting today to watch the newest Jane Eyre movie.  Ruthless dissection of the movie will probably ensue, followed by a general consensus that it couldn’t possibly have lived up to the book.  I can’t think of a better way to spend the afternoon. 😛  Actually, I confess that for the most part my abiding love for the book has thus far carried me quite successfully through the various movie adaptations that I’ve seen; I thoroughly enjoyed the 1996 version in spite of its flaws.

Educate yourself:

Hodgepodge:

Doctor Who:

This week’s reading includes Adam Bede by George Eliot.  Thus far, I am not enthralled, but I’ll give it time.  I have a monstrosity of a volume that includes four George Eliot novels; the book is so big, I would probably break all of the bones in my foot if I accidentally dropped it on myself.  Ah well, even if I’m not a fan of all of the novels (though I did enjoy Eliot’s Middlemarch), I’ll at least wind up with decent biceps by the time I’m done reading them, just from carting the book around.

 

 

 

 

 

 

