Went exploring today with Sam, thinking we were going to a lovely arboretum in Apex. Turns out the arboretum hadn’t actually been built yet, so we explored around the brush and old buildings that were there instead. I love the feeling of exploring a new place, when you have no idea what you’re going to find next. As it happened, we didn’t find anything terribly exciting today, but just the anticipation made it a blast.

My friend Sarah has a new blog, the Culinary Quixotic. This is relevant to your interests.

Dear Photograph.
Gravity, kindly shared by Ian.
The 30 Harshest Author-on-Author Insults in History. Pretty amusing…
Quite the late fee, there.
How to Become an Author in 5 Incredibly Difficult Steps.

Abandoned Six Flags in New Orleans.
What happens on the internet every 60 seconds.
The elderly can be mighty fearsome.
4 Reasons Why Trying Parkour Can Ruin Your Self-Esteem. I believe it.
Place your bets.

Desktopography, how have I been unaware of your existence all this time?

Judy Garland and Ray Bolger.
“Good Morning Moon” by the fabulous Marian Call, a song written to wake up the astronauts on the space station.
The All Ways cover Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep,” and it does not suck.
The First World Problems Rap.
You’re going to hate me for this, and you will not succeed in getting the song out of your head. *twirls mustache evilly*

In a tragic accident, I left The Decameron at work over the weekend, so I couldn’t finish it as I had planned. I’m 150 pages from finishing it, and it reminds me more and more of The Canterbury Tales, not because of the obvious similarities in structure and premise but because good grief, these stories are raunchy. I was 12 when I read Canterbury and was utterly scandalized by several of the stories. Twelve-year-old Stephanie wouldn’t even have known what to do with The Decameron, where every other story includes adultery in some form. Those medieval Italians…tsk tsk. I kind of feel like I have to finish it now, after spending so much time on it. :/

