If anyone finds out what happened to May, let me know. I seem to have lost it. People say time seems to pass more quickly the older you are; at the rate I’m going, by the time I’m 60 years old I’ll blink and miss a whole decade.

My brother is the coolest young entrepreneurial upstart poised to take over the world out there, and don’t you forget it. Also, please hire him.

I’m half-heartedly toying with the idea of switching to WordPress or Blogspot or something. One by one, my friends are deserting LJ for more “grown-up” blogging sites, and not without good reason. My Russian spammer friends are really getting on my nerves: I get more spam comments than legitimate comments. Granted, I don’t get that many legitimate comments so that’s not really saying much, but it’s the principle of the thing. I’ll still always keep this journal, though, if only to keep up with the fan communities. Seriously, they work via psychic link; if some obscure bit of fandom isn’t on the comms, it’s not on the internet.


All of my good ideas…
Advice! Advice!!!
Read your book case.
I kept our promise.

Very, very neat rescue.
I don’t want your damn lemons!
Dinosaur Battle Town.
The Longboard Girls to the tune of “Rox in the Box” by The Decemberists.

Along the old road.
Mark your calendars. I recently heard the rumor that Cumberbatch will actually play the voice of Smaug, which I confess sounds perfectly fitting.
Best of behind the scenes in famous movies.

Hey, what song are you listening to: London version. Clearly the Brits have better taste in music than New Yorkers.
I was reading one of my favorite poems, “Sea Fever” by John Masefield, and I wondered, hmm, has anyone put this to music? Answer: yes. And it’s grand.

Sheesh, Faulkner, you just have to make my life difficult, don’t you? I finished Go Down, Moses, and I confess that the only times I’ve ever used SparkNotes in my life were to figure out if I was figuring out a Faulkner novel. Turns out I’d missed one important bit of genealogy, which made a suicide more understandable (you guessed it: incest!), but otherwise I think I got the main points. I’d read The Bear before, but it was better in context (such as Faulkner’s context is). I still think I liked parts of it, but sometimes Faulkner seems to obfuscate purely for the joy of it, and that irks me. Also, the word “repudiate” was starting not to sound like a word anymore by the end, but such is to be expected, I guess.

Then I read The Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett, upon which the old movie by the same name was based. In a rare turn of events…the movie is better than the book. The novel was downright bleak and occasionally boring, both crimes of which one could never accuse the movie, certainly. I don’t think I’m cut out for 1930s crime novels after all.

I read a novella by Arthur Schnitzler (hush, don’t make fun of the poor man’s name), “Flight into Darkness,” the last of three novellas in a book of his that I bought for the class Love and Death. This one would’ve fit right into the syllabus. Spoilers: he dies, but not before going mad over the course of the novella and killing at least one person in his delusion. Whee! Fun times. Not a big Schnitzler fan, however thought-provoking he may be, but I wished we could’ve thrashed this one out in class.

Currently, I’m working on The Weight of Glory by C.S. Lewis. Goes without saying that it’s brilliant. I especially find it fascinating historically because much of it was written during WWII, and a lot of his essays and sermons deal with related subjects.

Off to go for a run! Last time a tiny mouse ran alongside me on the trail for a minute. I felt like a very sweaty Cinderella.

