Oh dear, it’s been forever, and I have accumulated so many things to share with you, most of which are now old and outdated.

The Hobbit production diary, which has been out forever but which I kept forgetting to post. I got ridiculously excited for the new movie and nostalgic for the old movies after seeing this.
Lord of the Rings infographic. Now you know.

Disney/Star Wars mash-ups. My favorite is Yoda as Jiminy Cricket.
Lego Star Wars prequels in 2 minutes. So much less painful this way.
Boo and Chew, brought to you by the ever-whimsical James Hance.

Starbucks in a Starbucks. That noise you just heard was the sound of your mind being blown.
David Tennant and Catherine Tate in Much Ado About Nothing? I suddenly wish to fly to the UK.
Regrettably, the Maquis were not actually involved in the Bin Laden mission.

Why, Finland?
Dancing brothers got skills. I just can’t put a “z” on that.
Kitten collision. Always wear your seat belts, kids.
7 Disturbing Books Someone Probably Made You Read. I read six out of the seven for fun, not sure what that implies about me.
The Accidental Sea.
Woodsman Axe Coffee Table. Needs a wolf pelt on the floor and a red hooded cape hanging from a nail.
Battle at F-Stop Ridge. Photography is hell.

Flint Hill Special.

All kinds of reading has been happening lately. I finished Ozma of Oz and then read Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz and The Road to Oz, after which I sort of felt like I’d been stuck in Oz for years, to the extent that it was all I was dreaming about. Which is fine, but you can only have so many dreams about talking chickens before you realize you need a break.

I read A Sound of Thunder by Ray Bradbury, and oddly enough there was a thunderstorm every single day I was reading it. There was a particularly heavy deluge whilst I was reading the story “The Long Rain.” Strangely, however, there were no dinosaurs or butterflies. I really liked the story “Fire and Ice,” which I had never read in any previous collections.

I made quite a few reading detours I hadn’t meant to take, then. A friend is going through a tough time, so I read How I Stayed Alive When My Brain Was Trying to Kill Me by Susan Blauner, which was extremely useful. Or I think it was. Then a coworker lent me Bless Your Heart, Tramp and Other Southern Endearments by Celia Rivenbark, which was hilarious and so light by comparison with the former book that I felt somewhat like I’d been breathing helium. After that came Coraline by Neil Gaiman, which says it’s a children’s story, but I wouldn’t let any child of mine near it with a ten-foot pole. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it very much, and look forward to the nightmares it will no doubt cause.

Then I read Murder at the Vicarage and Sleeping Murder, Agatha Christie’s first and last Miss Marple novels, respectively. I’d read them a very long time ago (maybe when I was 10 or so), and I had forgotten just how enthralling Christie mysteries are. I couldn’t put them down until all was revealed…it’s pretty nice re-reading a mystery novel 14 years later because I had no idea who the murderer was.

