As promised!

Knowledge drop.
Not entirely accurate, but nonetheless lovely.
Last launch of the space shuttle Discovery.
Typical.

The world. I do not understand it.
Pirate ship bedroom, or in other words, the coolest thing ever.
I admire her dedication, though I would’ve chosen a different book.
Undeniably so.
Six terrifying ways crows are way smarter than you thought. Crows and ravens always impressed me pretty deeply as a kid, having grown up in Indiana where there are probably more members of the genus corvus than the species homo sapien. When I was young, I wrote a sci-fi/horror story in which aliens use crows to conquer the earth for them. I still think it’s pretty feasible…
Six things that annoy you, explained by science.
Five inaccurate complains about modern life.

Where would this world be without the Amish and their Belgian drafts.
No joke, particularly having just seen how high and steep DC escalators are.
Organizing the bookcase, which I will be doing next week if I ever get all of my books hauled to the new apartment. The process will no doubt look less cool than this.

A Sith lord and his music.
The internet experience.
Now, I’m not saying that I’d automatically say yes to any guy asking me to marry him with a ring made out of a meteorite…but his chances of acceptance would certainly be statistically higher.
Dune coloring/activity book. This was a real thing??
And you’re telling me it’s a children’s bedtime story too? Now I’ve seen everything. …But Muad’Dib is kinda cute.

“The Things That You Think” by Ben Folds, Nick Hornby, and Pomplamoose.
“YWCI” by Chase, an acquaintance of mine from college.

Been doing lots and lots of reading! I finished I Am Spock by Leonard Nimoy, which was a fascinating look (harhar, fascinating, get it?) look at the history of Trek through his eyes. It was written in 1995; I would love to hear his insights on where Trek has been since then and how he feels about the reboot (which, interestingly enough, was pitched decades ago, according to this book).

Terry Pratchett is becoming one of my new favorite authors, and I’m baffled as to why I haven’t properly explored him before this. I read Guards! Guards! in about a day, and it was gloriously fun. It’s the sort of book I find myself snickering in public over, which draws a lot of funny looks, but opens up a lot interesting conversations. “What’s so funny?” “Well, see, this bar has a troll for a splatter. It’s like a bouncer, but trolls use more force!” “…”

Then I read The Problem of Pain by CS Lewis, which was, of course, brilliant. Even when I disagree with Lewis’ theology, I have to admire the ways in which he expresses his ideas. I constantly get the feeling that he says the things the rest of us don’t know how to word.

Next up: North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell. I unwittingly broke one of my cardinal rules: I saw the miniseries before I read the book, because I didn’t know there was a book. Remedying as soon as possible!

