Last Sunday I had a glorious day with friends, hiking in the most perfect weather. We explored off-trail and found all sorts of fascinating things! And we managed not to get lost in the woods for days, so that was pretty excellent. Best Superbowl Sunday ever, certainly!

I have a recurring dream recently where I consistently order the wrong chicken sandwich. They’re always radically different dreams in which purchasing a meal is a very minor point, but I always accidentally order the sandwich I don’t want. NOT the #2, darn it!

Lately I’ve been having weird troubles with Russian spam commenters, leaving cryptic messages on my posts. I don’t understand. Maybe I talk about Tolstoy too much. I can’t imagine why else someone would think anyone in my (very small) readership would be inclined to buy cheap electronics from Russian websites. Beware the Muscovite black market ipods, kids.

Check out Espresso Queen, a coffee blog by one of my supremely awesome friends!

RIP Brian Jacques. I hope that somewhere an army of mice and badgers are giving you a battle-cry send-off.
Part 2 of The Sagan Series. Stop, drop, and watch this immediately. Part 1 is here, should you have somehow missed it.
Neil Gaiman on copyright piracy.
Reel wisdom.
Slow.

Coke dragon battle, which you probably saw if you were, unlike me, watching the Superbowl last weekend.
Grannies are fearsome creatures.
I love the cold, but not even I understand Norwegians.

Now if you could only get these with different titles…
Bear Grylls Ultimate Survival Kit. Tempting…
Whole Trees Architecture, found by Rachael.
Six Artists You Didn’t Know Made Your Favorite Movie Moments.
Criminal photographs from Australia, 1920. Mugshots have never been so intriguing. I want to write a story about each one.

Bass strings.
“Evergreen” by Yoann Lemoine.

I read Destination: Void by Frank Herbert of Dune fame this week. Obviously he doesn’t get amazing points for the title, but the rest of it was quite good. Not mind-blowing, I’m afraid; all of the other Herbert that I’ve read hasn’t quite lived up to the Dune series. I think his talents really lie in worldbuilding because fiddling around with the one we live in just doesn’t quite cut it in terms of illustrating his genius. Void was heavy on the science part of science fiction, so much so that I was a bit lost with some of the computer language they were tossing around. The book still had the multi-layered feeling of Dune where you suspect you’re only understanding what’s going on in the topmost layers, there’s so much subtlety winging around in the dialogue. I loved that about Dune, but in this book it was actually a little annoying sometimes. Overall, however, still a very good book.

Next up, I’m re-reading The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. I figure the movie will be out at the cheap seats in a month or two, and I’ll probably check it out then. Normally imprecise book-to-movie adaptations send me into a blind rage, but for some reason Narnia is the exception to that rule. Even though the movies are exceedingly dissimilar from the books, I still enjoy both of them independently (even realizing that the movies, while entertaining, aren’t exactly groundbreaking cinema). The Hobbit adaptation, on the other hand…you just better behave yourself, Peter Jackson.

