Been a bit of a frustrating week at work, but hey, it’s the weekend! I have no plans whatsoever, and I plan to enjoy every minute of it. Last weekend was perfectly lovely, as I got to spend the day with good friends, many used bookstores, and lots of delicious food. Now my groaning bookshelves and meager bank account tell me sternly that I am not permitted to go on another bookstore trawl for several months, but boy howdy it was worth it.

Been a rather amusing week for the internet, I must say. Check out all of the marvelous things below!

The frontier is everywhere.
NASA lets us in on the good news that there is a naturally occurring source of antimatter! (NASA also said something about the zodiac this week, but no one cares about that.) I predict lightning strike deaths will skyrocket as Star Trek fans everywhere race outside during storms to devise ways of building matter/antimatter reactors to power warp engines.
The sun rises two days early in Greenland. How cool would it be to live in a place where you can legitimately say, “The sun rose two days early this year”?

Aviator wing desk. When this page loaded, I yelled, “Ahhhhhh!” and threw my hands in the air. That is how cool it is.
Beautiful Tardis doorway.
Stargate and Amok Time cakes? I may just ditch my pie allegiance for that.
Living Works of Art. This is going to freak the heck out of archaeologists in a couple hundred years.
Low-impact woodland home. Of *course* this is Wales. Makes a lot of sense, although I’ve heard that straw insulation can cause major mold problems over time.

Strange things television writers evidently believe about smart people.
Six unbelievably gutsy WWII fighter pilots. You know, other than the fact that just being a WWII fighter pilot was a pretty gutsy move.

Flooding in Toowoomba wipes out an entire parking lot full of cars. The typical American version of this video would involve a lot of cussing, but these Aussies just murmur, “Oh my!” and gasp in polite horror.
The Alphabet by Alessandro Novelli.
The hound has the blues.
One year in two minutes.
A little girl’s performance of the national anthem at a hockey game doesn’t go quite as planned. You will smile.
If I were going to commit a crime, I would hire this guy to be my distraction. Once he gets going, no one will be paying attention to anything else.
Bird song whistles.

Combine snow-shoveling and the Death Star, and this is what you get.
Come to the Dark Side. We have fantastic cookie jars.
“Three Minutes,” a short film. Fairly disturbing concept, but includes a wicked lightsaber duel.

If you thought the only thing Bjork and karaoke had in common were a lot of K’s, well, you’d be wrong. Bonus points to the Iceland’s strange one for covering Joy Division’s “Love Will Tear Us Apart.”
“You Always Make Me Smile” by Kyle Andrews, featuring the world’s largest water balloon fight. That guitar will never the same again.

I finally finished up The Wing-and-Wing by James Fenimore Cooper. I have been sorely disappointed in much of my reading material of late. You would *think* that one couldn’t possibly go wrong with a tale of French privateers on the high seas, written by the author of The Leatherstocking Tales. And, sadly, you would be wrong. Wing was quite dull, involving long digressions by petty Italian officials and a hopelessly dreary heroine, if I may use the term loosely. She spent the majority of the novel trying to convert the aforementioned French privateer to Catholicism. I smelled a martyr, and figured she would either kick the bucket or end up in a convent by the end of the novel. Spoiler alert: the French privateer kicks the bucket in most anticlimactic fashion (darn it, Raoul), and isn’t even permitted to die in peace, as the heroine harasses him about the state of his soul right up until he dies. She then…*drumroll*…goes into a convent. Sigh. When the most interesting things about your characters are their names, you have a problem, Cooper.

I also finished up The Language of Bees by Laurie King, which was *also* disappointing. What is your deal, folks. Don’t tempt me with promises of a fascinating premise and then not deliver! It was left in a bit of a cliffhanger, and my pathological need to “find out what happens” in every story I start means that I will likely suffer through the sequel when it comes out, but I won’t be happy about it. *grumbles.

And now I really, REALLY am going to finish The Aeneid, I promise. I set it aside months ago, and I hate doing that to books, but now I’ve finished everything else that I’ve started. You have my undivided attention, Virgil. Let’s go found Rome.

