Confession: I am drinking V8 Fusion straight out of the bottle. I am such a rebel.

I have learned several things today:
1. No matter how many times you try to put a Canadian 25-cent piece in a North Carolina coin laundry machine, the machine will keep spitting it out.
2. I am not particularly quick on the uptake when it comes to distinguishing between George Washington and Queen Elizabeth II.
3. Coin laundry machines are smarter than I am.

Definitely checking any quarters that I get from Walgreens in the future to determine that they are indeed quarters. I stood there, frustration increasing, feeding the same “quarter” in the dryer forever because it was my last one until some kindly woman took pity on me and pointed out that my money was from the great North. The situation was even more hilarious because I don’t think she even spoke English.


The Raleigh Treasure Hunt, in which several of my friends are participating. Neat idea!
Faith told me about Davenport and Winkleperry, a steampunk art gallery in Pittsboro. I checked it out with Danielle, and it was fascinating! And strange. But mainly fascinating.

Speaking of the Victorian era, check out these Star Wars portraits by Greg Peltz.
A few weeks ago I posted the trailer for the new Tron: Legacy movie. Now there’s a real Tron lightcycle for sale! Extremely sweet.
What would it be like to have a pet AT-AT? This is a question I ask myself every day. Finally, we have the answer.
William Shatner steals Leonard Nimoy’s bike. Well, I thought it was amusing.

I advocate putting slides in place of escalators EVERYWHERE. Suddenly the mall would actually be entertaining.
Play me, I’m yours is a brilliant idea. Check out the highlights section for some real gems.
The Bulwer-Lytton Fiction Contest, where writers compete for honor of the most nauseatingly purple prose. I actually read a novel by Bulwer-Lytton once, and it was pretty entertaining, though not for the reasons the author intended.
The Sketchbook Project 2011.
The Credit Card Prank. I stole this card.
Awful Library Books, originally found by Ian.
I love it when technology is beautiful as well as functional. Looks like they’re trying, with these tree-like usb drives, but yeesh, the aesthetically pleasing sure is expensive.
Squirrel meets the Yankee Flipper. Courtesy of my coworker Elena. Yeah, we work pretty hard.

Lenny Kravitz crashes a choir.
Techno Jeep by Julian Smith. I also find his Expensive Haircut video inexplicably hilarious.
“Carried Away” by Marc Scibilia.
“Don’t Look Back” by She and Him.

Trailer for the movie Agora. The movie looks moderately intriguing, but mainly it just reminded me of how enthralling the idea of the library at Alexandria is to me. There’s something so magical about the idea of an ancient library in Egypt, a center of learning so advanced even though it was so long ago. I thought it was tragic on a near-personal scale when I first read of the burning (well, burnings) of the library. Can you imagine it? Possibly as many as a million scrolls, incredible amounts of knowledge, completely destroyed.

Speaking of books, I enjoyed Cyrano de Bergerac very much, and then I started C.S. Lewis’ space trilogy. I’ve wanted to read it for years, but I never could seem to find the first book. THEN! I caught sight of a copy of the whole trilogy in one at Ed McKay’s and snatched that sucker up and ran with it before anyone could stop me. (I did pay for it first, though.) Out of the Silent Planet was very good and set things up for the second book quite nicely, but so far I am considerably more enamored with Perelandra. I’m so happy when I run into passages in books that say things I was thinking but never knew how to articulate, or things I meant to think but couldn’t quite reach. I don’t even know how to talk about some of his ideas properly, but I can see the vast wisdom Lewis seems to inherently possess. I’m savoring every page, and I already know I’ll be sorry when it’s over.

