The other day, I was driving north on Highway 1 right in that snarl of exits right before you get to Cary when I saw something moving across the road in front of me. I barely had time to realize, as I barreled down upon the tiny critter at 70mph, that it was a dark mouse scurrying across the enormous road as fast as he possibly could. AND HE MADE IT. I take my hat off to you, little mouse. I’m not sure I could’ve made it, and I’m a full-grown human.

When the Time Is Ripe. Featuring a Jewish pear. Found by Sarah.
English major soaps, which sounds like daytime television for literature aficionados, but that is most emphatically not the case. Found by Faith.
Gimghoul Castle, which I learned of from Kendra. There is very, very definitely an expedition to this place in my near future.
How to pull out a tooth with a rocket. Exactly what it sounds like. Found by Danielle! (Yes, I stole pretty much everything here.)

The Astronomy Picture of the Day over on the NASA website is, more often than not, wonderful. However, this tips the scales over to astoundingly marvelous. The Mysterious Voynich Manuscript is written by an unknown author in an unknown language, and it’s chock full of astronomy illustrations. What does it mean? No one knows…

If you’re in the Raleigh area, come check out my friend Anne Elisabeth Stengl’s book signing for her newly released novel, Heartless, which I was privileged enough to read before its release date. Fantasy lovers, give it a whirl!

In other books, I wolfed down A Song for Arbonne by Guy Gavriel Kay. You folks are going to murder me in cold blood if I rant about him much more, I realize. So I will only say that this book is based on the troubadour culture in Provence during the Middle Ages, which honestly is not a really my thing. My time period is several hundred years before that, and…I’m just not into courtly love much. HOWEVER, Kay made it positively riveting. I still take issues with his portrayal of certain aspects of morality, but I find it terribly hard to hold anything against him when he just writes so absurdly well.

Right now I’m working on Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand, which I started weeks ago but then laid aside to read Heartless and Arbonne. Thus far, I’m enjoying the wit tremendously! Oh Cyrano, you’re so funny. Also, I’m dying to use the line “It’s as if we are in some den of evil!” in conversation.

