Such adventures I have been having, this blog cannot possibly contain them! (As a kid, I remember being a little irked by that verse in John 21 where it says Christ did so many things, “Were every one of them to be written, I suppose that the world itself could not contain the books that would be written.” Come on, John! Couldn’t you at least have tried to write down a few?) Renaissance fair, Bond Park, and Dr. Vaughan’s retirement party, to name a few. Sunday I’m going strawberry-picking! It’s not summer till you’ve been berry-picking, regardless of what the thermometer blithely tells you. (I know, it’s not actually summer yet, but it feels it.)

I bought my very first pieces of furniture, all on my own! I have two spiffin’ new bookshelves, courtesy of Wally’s World. Right now my apartment looks like it puked books everywhere, and they’ve kind of oozed into the corners. I’ve been bringing a few crates every week from my parents’ place, and they’re stacked everywhere. You see, before I put them on the shelves, I have to make sure the shelves are in just the right place, and I’m not convinced yet. We’re getting acquainted. Then, once the shelves are in the right spot in the room, there begins the endless but extremely enjoyable task of organizing all of the books on them in just the right way. Alphabetization? Far too predictable. Dewey decimal system? Too many numbers. I’m going to come up with something far more exciting, just you wait.


The Hunt for Gollum is an absolutely incredible fanfilm, and you must see it now! Fanfilms are usually pretty hideous, but this thing is exceedingly beautiful. Really. Check it out, you won’t be sorry.
A cardboard castle, found by Rachael!
Academy Award Winning Movie Trailer, also found by Rachael. Comment about how I nearly broke something laughing!
Leonard Nimoy visits Vulcan, Alberta.
Flip flops are formidable. Ok, so a coworker sent me this one, and I kind of hate these kind of college humor videos, but this one is just unbelievable. Kids, don’t drink, if for no other reason than that you will look like an imbecile.
Taco the Tortoise comes when he’s called. I watched this late at night, and I got REALLY into it. Come on, Taco! Come on! You can do it! YOU CAN DO IT, TACO! There he is! He’s coming out! He really is! He’s pausing…come on, Taco, strive. HE CLIMBED ON THE MAN’S HAND! GOOD BOY, TACO! Ahem. Now you too can share in Taco’s triumph.

Some musics for you:
“Broken Horses” by Freelance Whales.
“Home” by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros.
“The Littlest Birds” by The Be Good Tanyas.
“Ahoy There” by Mr. Scruff. We’re about to start on a long sea voyage, you and I.

I must say, I really loved Moby Dick, aside from a few odd parts. I never realized how much Star Trek quotes Melville; half of Star Trek II is taken straight from Ahab, I think. After the White Whale destroyed the Pequod, I read the play Saint Joan by Bernard Shaw, which was also quite good. I confess I would like to read a proper historian’s view of Joan of Arc, but this was nonetheless very intriguing. Then I read Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson, which I’ve heard highly recommended from half a dozen sources. It’s like a collection of short stories, but all of the stories pull together into a somewhat-unified whole. I can see how some wouldn’t like it (it’s not THAT unified, and it can be a little annoying to be character-hopping so much), but I thoroughly enjoyed it anyway. It’s the sort of book I wish we could’ve discussed in a Dr. Peterman class. Then I read Precious Bane by Mary Webb. Definitely one of my new favorite books! I love the dialect and the way the ideas are conveyed, kind of slow and deep. And it has lovely, lovely names in it. Kester Woodseaves? Oh come on, I’d marry a guy with a name like that in a heartbeat. Er. Maybe. Gideon Sarn? You could hew a tree with that name. Right now I’m working on Shardik by Richard Adams, author of Watership Down, which I adored more than words can say. Shardik, alas, is not nearly so enthralling, at least so far. But I’m only 100 pages in, so it may improve.

