My neighbors are having a terrific shouting match in some foreign language (Hindi?), thus shortening my nap. *grumbles*

However, happier things are afoot!
The new book in the Attolia series is out! I have yet to get my hands on a copy, but it will happen.
Animated Star Wars comedy series? I fail to see how that could be anything but atrocious.
Pizza guy fends off armed robber, delivers still-hot pizza.

From out of nowhere, I was suddenly thinking of John Masefield’s poem “I Must Go Down to the Sea.” You should read it:

I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by,
And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,
And a grey mist on the sea’s face and a grey dawn breaking.

I must go down to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
And the flung spray and the blown spume, and the sea-gulls crying.

I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
To the gull’s way and the whale’s way where the wind’s like a whetted knife;
And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick’s over.

As a wee grasshopper, I thought the line “All I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by” was pure magic. I haven’t really revised that opinion.

The 13 1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear turned out to be, not 700 pages of hilarity, alas, but more like 700 pages of boredom. *shakes head sadly*

HOWEVER, I am currently reading The Lions of Al-Rassan by Guy Gavriel Kay (oh yes, him again), and it is magnificent. At one point I was reading in my cubicle (hey, there was no work for me to do! I might as well read.) in anguish over the exquisite supposed-death of one of my favorite characters, trying not to wail in dismay. So beautifully done! The amount of historical research! I am reduced to incoherency by this man’s writing talent. Regrettably, there are a couple elements to his books that make them difficult to recommend to some people; otherwise, I would be proclaiming his virtues to everyone I met, I think.

If you have not heard Jonsi’s new album Go, you should do so immediately. This is the first solo album by the lead singer of Sigur Ros, so you’re pretty much assured brilliance.

