We all know what you’re REALLY here for, so let’s just take care of the fun stuff right away, shall we? 😉

Ok Go continues to be fabulous. (Oh darn, who did I steal this from?? I don’t remember! Probably Sam.)
“The Happiest Man on Earth,” a fascinating article I read in the plane on the way to San Diego.
Bank dance to “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?” by She & Him, and THIS I did steal from Sam.
Austenbook, stolen from Rachael.
This fellow is eerily good at giving cats voices. Also check out “I Spy.”
It’s okay to play with your food if it’s still moving.
A little ditty called “Pollution” by Tom Lehrer, stolen from Joey.
Moscow’s stray dogs, also stolen from Joey.
Every once in a while, I get the sneaking suspicion dolphins are smarter and happier than me. It’s probably true.
Star Wars versus Star Trek, but not how you think.
Nick Pitera. Luke showed me this video one day in the English department, and I think I forgot about it because my brain couldn’t handle the memory, but it’s back now.
Been finding lots of lovely picspams lately:
Books: a picspam.
Words: a picspam.
Colors.
Extremely cute animals doing stuff. Oh hush, you know you like it.

Whew. I’d been saving those up now for a while. Each time I got online to update, I always got busy, and, well. These things happen.


So my first week of work went quite well and was shockingly stress-free. I’ve never been so unpressured in a job, I’m not sure what to do with myself. I’m actually a bit bored; there’s not enough material for me to edit at the moment. I tackled organizing a roomful of old materials instead just for something to do. But hey, if they want to pay me for that, that’s cool.

The San Diego trip was considerably more exciting and sleep-depriving. The work part was relatively unremarkable, but I did have quite a few interesting experiences. I am not at all accustomed to staying in a 4-star hotel, so that was rather nice. I smuggled out a sewing kit, various toiletries, three small jars of jam, two small jars of honey, six packets of gourmet coffee, and ten tea bags. I am still very much in the college student mentality regarding food: if it’s free, I’ll take it, thank you. 😛

Surprisingly, the best thing about the trip might have been the food. We ate at fancy little restaurants in the Gaslamp District in historic San Diego. I had gelato for the first time and fell for it head over heels. I had amazing Thai food. And one evening our table had a long conversation with a waiter named Antonio, and I discovered I despise margaritas.

My phone, inexplicably, hated the entire state of California and showed his displeasure by turning up his heels and dying. When I walked to the T-Mobile store, he started blinking and waking up, though, and now he’s back to his cantankerous but living self, you’ll be pleased to know. It made things interesting, not having a phone for a couple days while traveling.

Overheard spoken by one half of a passing couple on a dark and rainy night on the streets of San Diego: “Cats have a way of being okay.” True.

Overheard spoken by a pharmaceutical sales rep, eyeing the coffee sweeteners: “Do I want something that causes cancer, a GI toxin, or a neurotoxin today?”

Overheard in the Raleigh airport: The woman next to me had the Star Trek: The Next Generation theme song as her ring tone. I told her it was most excellent, and she beamed and was pleased as punch to talk to another Trekkie.

Seen in the Raleigh airport: A pixie. I’m quite convinced. There was a tiny, waif-like girl, maybe 11 years old, and she looked exactly as one would imagine a pixie to look. She had short, just slightly curling brown hair under a very Dickensian cap, and the most twinkling pair of eyes I’ve ever seen.

Seen scribbled on a note left behind after one of the pharmaceutical presentations: “I think Larry would look good in a white mustache like that.”

One night I had some time to myself, so I walked the streets of San Diego on my own, which was quite exciting. I had desperately wanted to go to the Maritime Museum, but alas there was no time when it was open, so I walked down anyway to see the Star of India and the HMS Surprise. It was about two and a half miles, so I got to see a bit of the city. Turns out San Diego’s homeless population rivals that of Florida, I think. I didn’t feel quite comfortable making friends, seeing as how I was by myself in a strange town late at night. I got to get fairly close to the ships, and it would have been oh-so-easy to sneak about the India, but with my luck I’d get caught aboard and get thrown in San Diegoan jail, and I really didn’t want to have to call my boss to bail me out. That would be exceedingly awkward on the second week of employment. So the India floated in peace, and I had a nice walk anyway.

Flying home, I got to see the Rocky Mountains. One day I will visit them properly. When I was three, I decided that I was going to move to Colorado and live in a little log cabin. I have no memory of why I decided this so firmly, but the ensuring obsession with Colorado lasted for years. One day, Colorado.

I keep having a recurring dream that I’m in a very old, musty house, and people are coming through the wallpaper. One of the was Queen Victoria, I recall, and all of them were trying very hard to tell me something. This is possibly significant in some way.

Bookwise, I have savored every minute of the two Sherlock Holmes books, which I finished. Reading a case before bedtime is the perfect way to end the day! Then on the way to San Diego I read all of Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, which was delightful, but…there’s always a but with Gaiman. I should be madly in love with his writing, but instead I always wind up liking it tremendously but not loving it. There’s something off in his books, but I can’t quite put my finger on it. Right now I’m reading Stardust, and it’s much the same feeling. Why is that? It merits further thought. Aside from that, I read A Death in the Family by James Agee on the way home from San Diego, which Dr. Peterman had recommended an age ago. My copy is from her, actually; she had half a dozen copies of the book, so she passed one along. It was good in the way that books I read for school were good; I wish I could have discussed it with my Southern American Lit class. It’s a good book for talking about. I didn’t like it, necessarily, but I enjoyed reading it, if that makes sense.

