Still no job. BUT. This could change at any moment! I’m still waiting to hear more on a particularly nice-sounding position, so keep crossing those toes. Instead of gainful employment, I engaged in a vigorously lazy bout of tv-watching, reading, running, and hanging out with friends. Could get used to this. Except for the bills that still need paying, whether I am employed or not.


How long could Luke Skywalker survive inside of the tauntaun? I have asked myself this question. Now I know the answer.
They’re remaking Dune? I don’t know how I feel about that. There was a pretty decent miniseries of this (well, Children of Dune was better), so it sort of feels unnecessary. Then again, the 80s movie was quite awful, even though it did have Patrick Stewart. Guess even the Captain couldn’t redeem that.
Star Trek meets Monty Python. This is turning out to be one of those geeky blog entries, isn’t it.
Little Lilly.
No one belongs here more than you.
Utterly brilliant idea from the same woman who wrote the above book.
Lucia Micarelli, her amazing violin skills, and “Kashmir.” You enjoy that.
Currently obsessed with “Hysteric” by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs.
The case for majoring in English. HECK YES.
10 $20 day trips. I love how this person writes!

Ok, I like the BBC. There, I’ve said it. I love that people on British tv actually look like real people. The guys are sometimes balding, the girls are a normal weight, and they look like the average sort of people you would run into on the street. Going by most American tv, all good people look like supermodels, and only villains have bad teeth. Anyway, this comes to mind because I watched the entire series of Primeval last week. I know. I’m bordering on new levels of pathetic-atude. And it’s not even that great of a show. But it IS lots of fun! I had no idea that I was ignoring the side of Stephanie that loved to watch dinosaurs rampage around. This show is like Jurassic Park with British accents, and as we all know, British accents make EVERYTHING better. “‘Ere now, mate, ‘and me that tranquilizah, will ye?” Fabulous, I tell you. Giant prehistoric spiders in the London subway, giant crocodiles in the Thames, good times for everyone. And because it’s a family show, the dinos politely drag people offscreen to eat them, a courtesy which I appreciate.

In other news, I’m thoroughly enjoying my Sherlock Holmes books from my awesome coworker. Used books are somehow so much more delicious. Yesterday I hung out in Raleigh all day with friends, and we went to Ed McKay’s, realm of delectable used books. I grabbed T.H. White’s Once and Future King and The Book of Merlyn and Mary Stewart’s The Wicked Day and in all other respects showed admirable restraint, all things considered. There was a collector’s edition of The Lord of the Rings that was shockingly beautiful, but I resolutely turned away. Proud of myself, I am.

