Wil Wheaton quoting some other dude about writing: “At least half of all writing involves just sitting and staring into space. Letting your brain out to hunt down ideas, bringing them back all warm and bloody between its teeth.”

Some glorious things on the internet:
Another real-life musical, brought to you by Improv Everywhere.
Inmates come to guard’s aid in jail attack: the footage is oddly compelling.
An article on Jimmy Stewart, one of my favorite actors. Though I confess I felt a little strange, reading a website entitled artofmanliness.com.
Know what’s awesome? Puppies are awesome. Were you having a bad day? Not anymore.
Bat for Lashes doing a cover of Use Somebody by Kings of Leon. I admit to liking the original, even if it’s horrifically overplayed, but I think I like the Bat for Lashes version even better.

The Enormous Room by E.E. Cummings was astonishingly good. I highly recommend it. It’s not even really a World War I book, and it’s not really a memoire; I’m not really sure what it is. I do know, however, that is definitely worth reading.

Florida is one weird state. I have met some pretty weird people, and (aside from work) I’ve met more homeless people than I have people with homes. Particularly lately…


I was eating my lunch at the park where I always go everyday to get a little fresh air, and lately there’ve been a lot of homeless people (and other odd characters) hanging around too. This isn’t really a big deal, but sometimes they sleep on my favorite picnic table, which is a little awkward. Anyway, I was eating a granola bar and a guy wandered by and asked, “Do you have another one of those?” I was rather surprised (and had been violently torn from the world of my book, which is always a little disorienting), but I said, “No, I’m sorry, just the one.” But then of course I immediately felt guilty, so I rummaged in my bag and said, “But I do have an apple, if you want it!” So he took my apple and thanked me. And then…he curled up on the grass next to me and took a nap. Erm. What does one do in that situation? I decided that it was my lunch hour and I was looking forward to reading my book and I WAS going to read my book, by George. So I did. And when I left he was still sleeping, about 8 feet away.

Then a few days later I came to the park, sat down, opened my book, and began eating my lunch. Suddenly the song “Ding Dong, the Witch Is Dead” from The Wizard of Oz blasted out of a nearby car. These two guys played the song at an absolutely incredible volume: you could hear it all throughout the park. And then at the end of the song they just turned it off and everything was quiet again. It was incredibly surreal…

One of my homeless friends stands on a particular busy corner every morning as I go to work. I think his name is Greg (Craig?). Anyway, every morning we chat (it’s a loooooong light), and I thought we had a rapport going, y’know. Then one day he said we should exchange phone numbers, and we could go to the beach together. *headdesk* “Oh, look, the light’s green, I have to go!” Awkward. Then the other day, we had the following conversation:
Greg (Craig?): Has anyone told you that you’re beautiful yet today?
Me: Um. Not today, no.
Greg: Has anyone told you that they loved you today?
Me, very afraid of where this is going: No…
Greg: Well, God loves you!
Me, very much relieved: Oh! Yes. Yes, I suppose He does. Thank you. *changes the topic*

So all of that is tremendously amusing and makes for great stories, but is also exceedingly awkward and probably dangerous. Why can’t I meet some nice, normal people? Preferably ones who are gainfully employed and don’t live under bridges?

Also, somewhere in my apartment lurks the 9th lizard to break in. Vandals! *shakes fist*

