Curse on book thieves from the monastery of San Pedro, Barcelona, Spain:
For him that stealeth, or borroweth and returneth not,
this book from its owner, let it change into a serpent in his hand and rend him.
Let him be struck with palsy, and all his members blasted.
Let him languish in pain, crying aloud for mercy, and let there be no surcease to this agony till he sing in dissolution.
Let bookworms gnaw his entrails…and when at last he goeth to his last punishment, let the flames of hell consume him for ever.

That is pretty hardcore.

I found the above in Inkheart by Cornelia Funke. Yes, I’ve been reading a lot of young adult fiction lately. *belligerent look* You have a problem with that?? I didn’t think so. It’s enjoyable thus far, though not incredible. Yet another book I found too late in life, I think. What was I doing when I was 10? Clearly, missing out on a lot of great age-appropriate literature.

I managed, with difficulty, to finish Folly by Laurie King. It wasn’t terrible, it was just astounding mediocre, and I almost have more trouble finishing mediocre books than I do terrible ones. I also read Scaramouche by Rafael Sabatini, the author of Captain Blood, which was an interesting tale set during the French Revolution, which is always good fun. And then! A friend (cobaltmist) gave me a book called Crazy Hair by Neil Gaiman, and it’s hilarious and quite awesome and just a little bit creepy. It fits me perfectly. “Hunters send in expeditions, / Radio back their positions / Still, we’ve lost a dozen there / Lost inside my crazy hair.” It has happened, people.

Speaking of which, I called the bank the other day for something, and the lady on the phone exclaimed, “Oh, you’re that girl with the long beautiful hair!” I’ve only been inside the bank TWICE. Then yesterday I went to the bank to order a new debit card and I asked if they needed a driver’s license, and the woman said (this was a different one, mind you), “Oh, I know who you are, because of your hair.” Apparently I don’t even need to carry id anymore. Some policeman is going to pull me over and say, “Oh, hey, I know you, you’re the girl with the hair!” Well, hopefully not.

Seen on a tv news caption while at the airport: “David Letterman: Victim or Villian?” I desperately hope someone else noticed. I sort of wanted to stand up, point, and shout, “Typo!” But people are kind of grouchy in airports, and I didn’t want a barrage of dirty looks.

My trip to Wisconsin, by the way, was absolutely lovely. I stepped off the plane, and it was grey and blustery and spitting rain and chilly, and I was completely comfortable whilst my fellow travelers griped and shivered. It’s so unremittingly sunny in Florida, I’m beginning to miss overcast days. I had a glorious week of cool, clean weather in Wisconsin! We went hiking at our old favorite place, Devil’s Lake, and went horseback riding twice, and took a daytrip up to Madison, and wandered around and just generally had a fabulous time. It was so good to see friends and family again. I hadn’t seen my parents in two months, which is I think the longest we’ve been separated. It was a bit hard to come back to Florida after such good times, but I’ll be out of here soon; one can deal with anything when one knows that it is temporary.

Some links!
FindADig.com, where you too can be an archaeologist!
Invisible dogs, the latest escapade by those crazy Improv Everywhere folks.
There, I fixed it.
This peanut looks like a duck.
Homeschooled vs. Homeschoolers, shamelessly stolen from my old roomie.
Melting ice sculptures.
I can’t remember if I posted this already or not, but it’s worth reposting: Givesmehope.com
Taken by Trees, the new solo project by the lead singer from The Concretes.

