It occurred to me the other day that there is no smell in the world that is comparable to that of filing fingernails. There is no previous referent! It’s such an odd, odd smell. (Why yes, I do think about these things.)

Incredible paper castle.
I don’t know how I feel about this. On the one hand, the fan in me gets all excited, but then the rest of me says that this can’t be anything except truly horrid.
Somehow I managed to live 22 years of my life without hearing about the Scottish Wildcat, apparently known for being untameable, even when reared in captivity. AWESOME.
Aldous Huxley vs. George Orwell. You should be scared.
I refound this link when introducing a friend to Kafka. It’s part of the introduction of a movie called The Trial, narrated by the inimitable Orson Welles, and it’s from a short story of by Franz Kafka called “Before the Law.”

Bookwise, finished The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (heavenly!) and read Chosen by a Horse by Susan Richards, which was a sodden, sentimental, dreary, shallow thing which somehow became a bestseller. Then again, I suppose those adjectives could be applied to many bestsellers. Ugh. My coworkers are very sweet and often lend me books. Sometimes, they’re fantastic. Other times…less so. Yet I always feel compelled to read them all the way through! Why, why?? After that I started Captain Blood by Rafael Sabatini. You may recall the Errol Flynn movie by the same name. Turns out the movie, which I adored when I first saw it, is based on this book! It’s rollicking good seagoing fun, and I’m enjoying it immensely. Horatio Hornblower still wins at sea stories, but then C.S. Forester is the very last word on maritime adventures, so it’s only fair he should reign unchallenged in the genre.

I learned something interesting the other day. The O in Irish names (O’Malley, O’Brien, etc.) is an Anglicization of “ua”, meaning grandson in Irish Gaelic. I find that fascinating.

