Oops, it’s been a while. Where was I?

School is insane and beautiful and homicide-inducing, which I suppose is what senior year should be like. I am enjoying it in spite of (because of?) the craziness.

I’ve been accumulating links for months, just to share with you!

Oddmusic.
Deciduous.
How the Day Sounds by Greg Laswell.
The cat with four ears!
Arn: The Templar Knight is an awesome Swedish movie you should check out.
I doubt the veracity of this article, but it is nonetheless amusing.
Bookshelves made even more awesome.
Shakespearean insults!
Reverse dictionary.
Oktapodi.
The Imaginary World of Mr. Toast is worth reposting.
Medieval Help Desk.
Pictures for sad children.
1234 by Feist.
1234 by Feist, Sesame Street style.
Ninja cat is better than you.
Hoth, Brooklyn. These folks have some hilarious (and some disturbing) videos.
Goodreads.com is one of the coolest sites ever. I have already spent an absurd amount of time there!

Some things I meant to write about ages and ages ago:

I got a call at the country club during my last few days there, and this woman was trying to locate a particular person. I kept telling her we didn’t have any member by that name, and she didn’t believe me no matter what I said. Then, all of a sudden, she says, “Oh. Hmm. This person was born in 1918. I guess that explains why you can’t find them.” What was even funnier was that I didn’t immediately get what she was saying. Why would that – oh. Yes.

Another hilarious thing: a very elderly woman walked past my desk, and I saw she had a big thick book under her arm, so naturally I was intrigued. Then she turned, and I saw that it was Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. Every time I think of that tiny old woman reading a teen romance about vampires, I crack up!

I have determined that several things annoy me to the point that I might flip out and take out an entire roomful of people: 1. flickering traffic lights. You know how each light is made up of individual smaller lights, and sometimes they flicker? I can’t stand it! 2. The sickly beep made by our stove timer and, also, a friend’s watch on the hour. It hits the exactly wrong frequency. I’m just saying, I’m not responsible for ensuing violence.

I was at the laundromat at the tail end of summer, quietly reading a book whilst wild child hooligans whooped and hollered around me, when the owner of the laundromat came up. She said, “You don’t know me, but you seem like a good person. Would you watch the desk for me while I step out for a minute?” Apparently I look relatively harmless while reading, which is good to know, I guess.

A coworker, in referring to my efficiency, called me The Wonderful Stephanie. Has a ring, don’t you think? 😉 It makes me want to write a horror story about a downtrodden secretary, valued only for her efficiency. Maybe she flips out and takes out a room full of people! Maybe senior year brings out my morbid side…

Several times now, I’ve been wandering around outside or driving just before a storm, near flowering trees. The petals from the flowers scud across my path or across the road, swirling around in the air crazily, and each time I am utterly convinced, just for a minute, that they will coalesce into a dryad. They never do, but I keep hoping.

