Ha! Thought you’d killed me off, didn’t you.

Och, life is so crazy. I have no time for any reading besides school reading, although I’m enjoying that, for the most part, except for those moments when it feels academics are consuming every aspect of my life. But, you know, aside from that. I’ve still managed to squeeze in some adventuresome outings and fun things.

But now, ze links!
I have found the most beautiful thing on the internet.
Russian couple reunited after 60 years.
Kathleen MacInnes, who is awesome, sings a waulking song, working songs sung by Scottish women.
An equally awesome song by some cool Scottish guy with a recorder.
Yet another one of those things I wish I’d thought of first.
Guess who?

I read The Unvanquished by William Faulkner for Southern American Lit, and I loved it! I read The Bear when I was much, much younger and hated it, I don’t quite recall why. Perhaps because I didn’t live in the South then. Anyway, now he’s awesome, and I’m really enjoying all of the reading for this class so far. We also read The Old Order by Katherine Anne Porter, and she’s pretty great too.

I read Journey into the Whirlwind by Eugenia Ginzburg for Russian history, and it was somewhat traumatizing, but very very good. Yet another book all spoiled Americans should read…I should make a list.

In other reading, Milton is not as great as he thinks he is. Waverley by Sir Walter Scott has its poetic moments, but probably isn’t an all-time favorite. The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole and The Man of Feeling by Mackenzie have their good points, but I’m glad to be done with them. Marx is highly intelligent, logical, and compelling, and were I a mill worker in the late 1800s, I might be converted. As things stand, I think he’s historically obsolete and long-winded (Sarah, don’t kill me). And I think my Logic teacher has nefarious plans for my soul.

I’m having so many great ideas for stories and art projects and photography and places I want to explore and things I want to try, but no time to execute them…which is always exactly when I’m prone to getting the most ideas. *frustrated sigh*

I feel like doing something very drastic. It doesn’t even particularly matter what it is. Restlessness seems to be a thing of the fall and spring for me, but perhaps I’m just getting a head start.

