Happy Thanksgiving to various and sundry! I do like the word sundry, and even when I try to work it into conversation it so rarely works. Most unfortunate.

Giant turtle sightings in Vietnam. Sometimes I wonder why do any of us bother with fiction at all when reality is like this. I couldn’t make that up if I tried.
Christopher Walken reading The Raven by Edgar Allen Poe, as per recommendation by Mr. Nery.
Cats conversing. I just like their voices.
Dejected baby and dog. The look of reproach in that dog’s eyes is incredible. I especially love the “That’s precisely what I meant to say,” look on the baby’s face around 1:06.
Regina Spektor’s song Fidelity. Great music video!
Speaking of music videos: Hoppipolla by Sigur Ros, one of the most beautiful videos in the world.
Matched only by Glosoli, another Sigur Ros video. I do believe I’m moving to Iceland.

I need to name something Fitzsimmons one day! I’m just saying, it’s a great name.

I have been having bizarre and cool dreams lately. I had one that was EXCEEDINGLY important to remember, and do you know what I did? Yep, forgot it. BUT. I’m sure it’ll come to me.

Now there’s going to be a lot of yammering about movies and books, so feel free to skip to the end!
I finally saw Amazing Grace (the movie) during our little family movie night yesterday. VERY good movie! I’m so glad I got to see it at last. Ioan Gruffudd (of Hornblower fame) was exceptional, and the movie is about a time period I’m quite interested in. We had learned much of the story in my history class this semester. Funny how so much of what you know connects to so many other things. Each new piece of knowledge fits in just like a key; someday I’ll get the right key and something incredible will happen.

We also saw The Crucible, which I’d been meaning to watch ever since I read the play by Arthur Miller, which was excellent. The movie was VERY intense, VERY good. That last scene was unbelievable, so much so that as a viewer, it’s easy to find oneself trying to pull out of the movie emotionally because it’s all just too powerful. What’s truly frightening is that I read some of the court transcripts of the Salem trials, and it was just like that.

I also saw King Arthur just before Thanksgiving Break (I know, I’ve seen more movies in the past week than I have in the three months preceeding). Parts of it were good, others not so much. It took itself so terribly seriously that it was a little hard not to laugh when you were supposed to be feeling inspired. They were relatively historically accurate on some things and woefully off on others, which was frustrating; it seems to be a mishmash of various historical theories on Arthur, many of which are contradictory. Mongolian armor on that one dude? What was that all about? And don’t get me started on the trebuchets and crossbows. The Picts (called Wodes in the movie, after the woad plant which produces a blue dye) did in fact paint themselves blue before going into battle, but they were Scottish, not Celtic, and they weren’t fighting to regain their land because southern England never WAS their land. They didn’t think much of armor and often fought blue and naked, so I’m glad they fudged the historical accuracy on that one. The Celtic tribes did fight the Saxons, and their women did fight in battle, so that was relatively accurate, actually, as disturbing as it was to see Keira Knightley have that much fun slicing people into teensy pieces. Anyway, it had a lot of other issues, but it had its nice moments. Good riding, good archery for the most part (if you ignore the guy shooting multiple arrows at once), and some interesting ideas (I liked how they did the sword in the stone bit).

I’ve finally been doing a little more reading lately. I finished Contact by Carl Sagan at long, long last. It took me longer to read that miserable novel than any other book in my life, except maybe the Bible. It FINALLY got interesting around 350 pages in. Carl Sagan, you are a brilliant scientist and a very mediocre fiction writer. Er, sorry. After that, I read several short stories by Roald Dahl on the recommendation of Sarah, which were just the ticket after a lot of heavy school reading. Specifically, I read Esio Trot; The Vicar of Nibbleswicke, The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me; and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Then I read Anguished English: An Anthology of Accidental Assaults on Our Language, which was pretty great. Right now I’m working on some poetry by Boris Pasternak and The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis, both of which are excellent thus far.

Ok, go eat some pie or something.

