Greetings! Yeah, don’t get used to all this posting, it’s a phase.

I’ve been feeling inexorably alive lately, and I believe it’s because of all the Carl Sandburg I’ve been reading. It’s nigh-impossible not to feel terribly alive when reading Carl Sandburg’s poetry.

I went to the dentist yesterday (no cavities, whee!) and a funny thing occurred, which I shall tell you of. They had to do the panoramic x-ray thing (agh, radiation, stop it!), which was fine, and then the hygienist was looking at the x-rays, and she exclaimed, “You have such photogenic bone!” She proceeded to rhapsodize over my jawbone and sinus cavities for a good five minutes. “That is some good bone there.” So I say thank you and she cleans my teeth, and then the destist comes in and also looks at the x-rays. “Wow! That is some nice bone.” Guys, I have pretty bone. This is probably one of the weirder compliments I’ve received, right up there with the lady who said she wanted to scalp me and run away with my hair.*

Another hilarious thing! I got a call at work, and this is how it went:
Me: Good morning, Country Club of North Carolina, how may I help you?
Lady: I don’t – I don’t even know. I don’t know who I need to talk to, but – there’s a beaver on the corner of El Dorado cutting down trees like there’s no tomorrow.
Me: A beaver?
Lady: A beaver.

After I transferred her to maintenance, I hung up the phone and laughed until the girl in the office next door asked what was wrong, it was that funny. I don’t know why, but it was! And we apparently have extremely destructive beavers running rampant all over the place, and we’ve been trying to trap ’em.

I finished The Once and Future King by T.H. White, and the last 200 pages (it’s like 680) were even better than the preceding ones, and it was grand, and you should all read it. It’s cool from an Arthurian point of view, but also from a psychological and philosophical one. So make of that what you will and go read this book.

Also! I am currently reading Villette by Charlotte Bronte (author of Jane Eyre, and you better have known that or you have no business reading this live journal. I’m only partly kidding here). It is VERY good so far, and if I hadn’t given previous allegiance to Jane Eyre, I might be tempted to call this my favorite Bronte book. The jury’s still out…

Iron and Wine is a perfectly marvelous band. If you’ve not heard his songs, you need to rectify that situation.

*This is a true story.

