I meant to write in this over a week ago and it…slipped my mind. Break was safely concluded! Danielle came down for a whole week from Wisconsin and we did hundreds of unbelievable things and took thousands of unbelievable pictures. We watched every M. Night Shyamalan movie, hiked EVERYWHERE, ate ice cream and played with Gracie and read and drew and listened to copious amounts of music. She met the CU crowd when she came with me to Christina’s wedding. The wedding was exquisite and went off without a hitch, which may have been the first wedding in my experience to do so. After Dani went home, I had a couple days before heading back to CU in which I packed and tackled all the piled-up work and hung out with Jason, my paratrooper buddy, who was deployed to Afghanistan today. Break was great, but about a million times too short. I had lots of wonderously witty things to write, but over all that time I’m afraid I forgot them, so you’ll just have to take my word for it that they were nice. ๐Ÿ˜›

It is lovely to be back at Campbell, in spite of the complete and utter lack of time. The very first night I got back, Faith called on the phone and said to look out the window, and there she was with Matthew! We went adventuring through a beautiful pine wood, and on the way back I wandered into the woods. Suddenly I looked up and there was a house! It was extremely old, with a vine grown across the door and trees right up to it. The window was broken and the curtain was blowing out of it in the moonlight. We crept up to it and shone a cell phone into the window. It appeared empty, but exceedingly dark and creepy. We joyously ran back to the dorm for flashlights and cameras and then climbed in through the window and explored thoroughly. We recorded the whole thing, which made for an auditorially interesting video but not a visually interesting one, since it’s so dark. Before classes started, we hiked like maniacs and read books and generally enjoyed ourselves and got all caught up.

It really is addictive. I got 18560, but wasted more time than I care to admit.

I may go mad this semester. I think it would be the practical thing to do. I have SO MUCH WORK! I would pull out my hair, but it’d take too long to grow back. I’m a wee bit concerned about it, in all seriousness, so we’ll see how it goes.

Books! I had to read Dragon Seed by Pearl S. Buck for Honors (History and Literature of the Vietnam War, so why are we reading about China? I know not.), and it was good. Not in the “this is my new favorite book!” good, but in the well-written, sometimes painful but always tactful and accruate kind of good. I think I’ll enjoy the discussion on it on Monday. Aside from that, I’m currently reading a bazillion text books and Zanoni, by Edward Buler, also known as Lord Lytton or occasionally Bulwer Lytton. This is all very confusing. Apparently he is a somewhat famous author, or was, in the academic circles. I feel like I should be wearing a ruffly blouse and sipping hot chocolate while I’m curled up in a twilit drawing room while I’m reading it. Why this is, I’m not entirely sure, but it has something to do with the incredibly flowery prose, doubtless.

Speaking of flowery prose, I have been writing again lately! Nothing very grand, but just twiddling around with some stories. I don’t really know what I’m doing or where I’m going, but it’s nice anyway. Oh, I forgot, The African Queen was not awesome, contrary to expectations. It was awesome in parts, but it had the most anticlimactic ending and the oddest plot ever. However, after that I read The Sky and the Forest by C.S. Forester as well, and that was a bit better. Still nowhere near Hornblower, though. Frankly, I’m a bit disappointed, Forester. After that Dani was here, so I read some books she brought, namely the visual companions to Firefly and Serenity. She bought me my very own Firefly dvds! I love that girl. I also read one of the Firefly comics, which was…interesting. I’m not a big comic person, but once in a very long time I like to read one just for kicks and giggles. I also read a young adult novel she brought called Define Normal which was better than most books of the genre are. I just gave up on Zorro completely and admitted defeat, it was too too horrible. Sorry, Allende.

I have rediscovered my love of many many movies lately. Of course, M. Night goes without saying, and while Dani was here we also saw other old favorites like Frequency, the Man From Snowy River movies (AMAZING riding, everyone should see those movies), and Les Miserables. We also saw The Librarian: Quest for the Spear, which I don’t particularly recommend. The beginning is cute and has lots of great literary jokes, but it goes downhill into terrifying amounts of cheesiness quite quickly. On the other hand, we saw Night at the Museum, which was quite funny and had only the good kind of cheese, so that was nice.

