Well hello! I am somewhat less swamped, and this is good. We’re putting the finishing touches on the room (the inside, that is) which means that very soon the rest of the house will be back to its normal state, or something resembling it. This is inexpressibly good because even Gracie has been acting depressed by the pandemonium.

Tomorrow I work 7:30 to 4:30 on one of the biggest shopping days of the year; if I don’t make it back alive, you can have my to-do list.

I think I have resigned myself to the fact that I simply cannot do all of the things I wanted to do before break ends. Not without 28 hour days, anyway. However! I have done some reading, even if it’s not as much as I wanted to. I read The Vision and Seize the Night, both by Dean Koontz. I wasn’t very impressed with The Vision; it wasn’t as well-done as many of his others, and I found it extremely predictable. Seize the Night, however, was great and a neat follow-up to Fear Nothing, which you pretty much have to read first to get the full effect.

While at the library, thinking of books a million miles from C.S. Lewis, I stumbled quite by accident over Till We Have Faces by that venerable author. Dr. Waldron recommended this book highly, so I scooped it up, figuring it was destiny or some such. Oh my. Everyone needs to read it. At first it just seems moderately good, nothing special, but by the time you get to the end you are consumed. It’s radically different (at least it seems so to me) from anything else of his I’ve read, but it’s very, very good.

Then I read Bridge to Terabithia by Kathering Paterson, and I can’t quite figure out why I haven’t read this book before. It’s such a Stephanie book, it feels like I must have read it. It’s exquisite and terrible and beautiful and has instantly become one of my old favorites; it’s an old friend I just met. I hate to give anything away for both this book and Till We Have Faces, they’re so, so grand. Just go read them both immediately.

I started Zorro by Isabel Allende a few books ago. Now, to preface this statement, I must say that I love Zorro. I grew up on the old black-and-white Zorro shows with Guy Williams, who is the epitome of class. I would try any book with no further information on it other than it was about Zorro. So when I say that this book is so horrible, I can’t bring myself to finish it, you know what I really mean. Somehow this woman has ended up all over the New York Bestsellers List, which makes my opinion of said list sink even lower than it already was. It’s like that Archy and Mehitabel poem, you know, the one about the napkins. She strings unbelievable, wildly improbably adventures together higgely-piggely, yet the book is still mind-numbingly dull. It’s horribly organized, or rather not organized at all, the characters all have confusing mood swings, inconsistencies, and generally nothing interesting or realistic about themselves to say. Words fail to describe the hideousness of this book. I hate not finishing a book, but I may have met my match. It burns, it burns!

Oh, hey, I found that poem! I used to think that everyone knew Archy and Mehitabel, but apparently that is not the case, so I shall copy an intro here: “Due to a tragic mishap of destiny, Archy, once a great poet, was reincarnated as a roach, but maintained the poet’s soul, which he poured out in verse each night by hopping from key to key on Mr. Don Marquis’ rusty old typewriter. Archy told stories about Mehitabel the cat, Freddy the Rat, and other denizens of the garage he lived in. Since he couldn’t manage the shift key, his verse was relatively unadorned by punctuation.” And here is the poem:

takes talent
there are two
kinds of human
beings in the world
so my observation
has told me
namely and to wit
as follows
firstly
those who
even though they
were to reveal
the secret of the universe
to you would fail
to impress you
with any sense
of the importance
of the news
and secondly
those who could
communicate to you
that they had
just purchased
ten cents worth
of paper napkins
and make you
thrill and vibrate
with the intelligence
archy

By Don Maquis

*happy sigh* I just love Archy.

Oh, right, books! I am now reading The African Queen by C.S. Forester, of Stephanie-acclaimed fame for writing the Horatio Hornblower books. It’s too soon to be sure, but I suspect it may be awesome. Will report when further intelligence has been gathered.

I have made it all the way to the Fs in my Musiczilla project. This means I am roughly 1/5 of the way through, and at the current rate, I shall finish it before I turn 28, rather than 64! This is very, very good. In addition, I wrote a short story the other day! And part of another one! I have much more to write, but I feel better about the break for having written at least something now.

Well, if there was more, I’ve certainly forgotten it by now!

