Greetings from lovely Wisconsin! Wonder of wonders, our hotel has high speed wireless internet, and I have my laptop! It is also 1am here, which is 2am at home, and I have no idea why I’m up except that I slept a lot in the car. There’s something very peaceful about being in a dark hotel room with your family asleep all around you but you are Surfing the Web.

I’m just going to have to talk about fall, and that’s all there is to it. It is so good to be back in the midwest where there actually, y’know, IS a fall. There is this completely indescribable feeling I get in the fall, where there is a true fall. Do you know what I mean? It’s like you want something terribly badly, but you don’t know what it is. It’s strongest when you hear the Canadian geese calling as they fly south in the middle of the night. On land, there is nothing so prosaic and ordinary as a goose, but in the wee hours of the night when you’re a little cold because it will be dawn soon and you hear them, there is nothing so wild and free. I used to imagine when I was little that I would get out of my bed and open my window and step up onto the sill and spread my arms and fly up into the cold night air with the geese and soar out over quiet farms and empty moonlit fields and doghouses and lakes where you can see your reflection flying. That’s what fall feels like. You can get a taste of the same feeling when you’re walking in the woods and the leaves are making little wind devils and tornadoes and your hair won’t stay still, or when you see fields chock full of goldenrod with that almost impossibly blue autumn sky over them. It’s too beautiful in a wild way. The fall feeling is all tied up in the fall smell, too. It does sometimes smell like fall in North Carolina, but very rarely and it’s never very strong. It’s not just the smell of leaves; I’ve never been able to pin it down so I think it’s the smell of the season itself.

Tonight we watched the sun set on one side and the moon rise on the other; I do believe I might like a moonrise even better than a sunrise when there’s a full moon. There was a huge harvest moon tonight, so lovely. I think between the full moon and the fall feeling, that must be why I’m so restless. I should go catch some sleep now, though!

It’s very good to be back.

