I laugh in the face of certain doom! Well, semi-certain. Everything might be fine. Actually, I’m just exaggerating for dramatic effect. I’m pretty much just snickering behind the back of minor annoyance! All this to say, I don’t think I’ll fail any classes this semester as a result of the Feast, which is good! I have almost all the work/reading done that I wanted to finish before we left, and all teachers are being most reasonable.

I’ve been listening to a lot of Deerhoof lately, which is kind of like listening to a very young child sing random silly songs while banging on a pot from the kitchen. For a while it’s very adorable, and then it gets a little old, and then you don’t want to hear it ever again. Which is how I feel about most indie noise pop, but once in a while you hit gold and it makes it worth it. I just love the titles, even if the songs are dumb. Examples: “No One Fed Me So I Stayed”, “Spirit Ditties of No Tone”, etc.

I finished Frankenstein, which was an adventure in gothic emotionalism! Or something. It wasn’t that fantastic. I’m working on Dracula by Bram Stoker now (for my Literary Gothic class, also known as The Magnificent Class), which is better than I had remembered. I read it a few years ago, and as I was reading it I suddenly felt like I had read it before and remembered what was going to happen to Lucy. This was quite strange, and for the memory to be so foggy I must’ve read it when I was very young. But I don’t actually remember reading it then. I kind of like book deja vu sometimes, it’s always interesting and usually bizarre.

I have already consumed large quantities of cheerios and apples this weekend, and I predict it will be brilliant. I’m looking forward very much to the Feast of Tabernacles; I’m definitely ready to go. Atonement is, of course, Monday so I’ll be at home until after sunset Monday, which means I’ll only be at school for Tuesday and Wednesday before we’re off to Wisconsin on Thursday. It’ll be a quieter trip than last year, but that’s good; we all could use some R & R time.

