So if I should visit the moon
Well, I’ll dance on a moonbeam and then
I will make a wish on a star
And I’ll wish I was home once again.

That was always one of my favorite songs on Sesame Street. Along with the one about the capital letter I, but that one eludes me to this day –

WAIT

NOBODY MOVE

LOOK

I found it!! Bless you, Youtube!! I love that song, but I only saw it twice when I was about 6, and I had resigned myself to never seeing it again!! Everyone should go watch the Sesame Street videos on Youtube, they’re all great. I always did kind of wonder how they fit that long ladder back into the I, though.

They’re waiting for parts to come in to fix Mini Jim. I begin to doubt that I will ever see him again.

New levels of bizarreness. That’s the eighties for you.

Books! I finished The Dragon in the Sea, and it was a good, solid story. Not the creative genius of Dune, but Herbert is a very consistently good writer. I wonder, it must be nasty when you write a series that people really love, and then you try to write other things less ambitious in scope and everyone must always be comparing your works. That’s got to stink.

I read The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis and was quite impressed. There are a lot of very wise insights in it, though I would imagine it must have been thoroughly exhausting to write. I don’t think I could ever write something like that, but it was definitely a book I needed to read, there were a lot of things I needed to hear in it. That makes it sound very didactic, and I don’t mean to make it sound so preachy because it’s not. It’s just very much a self-learning book.

I also finished Eric Brighteyes, which was perfectly lovely. Everyone died at the end, but then that’s to be expected. Ah, Viking fatalism. Wonderful in moderate doses, just don’t go jumping off any bridges now.

Reread Mr. Midshipman Hornblower by C.S. Forester yesterday. I love these books so very much. Actually, I’m wrapped up in a fit of book-love of any kind lately. It’s so much fun when you are constantly re-discovering your obsession for things, it makes life so interesting.

I started Dune by (of course) Frank Herbert. I realized it’s been at least two years since I originally read it, and Dune is so incredibly compex you just can’t get everything out of it in one reading. I’m going to work my way through the whole series, I think. Speaking of books, this batch will be due soon, and I don’t think I’m going to finish them in time. Dune is 500 pages and then I have a positively gargantuan volume of Old Norse sagas and poetry. I’m thinking I’ll try to finish Dune tomorrow and renew the sagas for reading on the way to the camping trip.

Speaking of which, for those who don’t know, I’m going camping, white water rafting, and tubing in the mountains of NC. We’re leaving Thursday evening and we’re going to pick Ed up from his leadership conference, then stay the night somewhere and arrive at the campground Friday morning. I am looking forward to it VERY much, it’s always a blast to camp and we’re going with a passel of friends.

D’ya know, I realized the other day it has been a whole year since I’ve been riding and since I sold the horses. Not so very long ago I couldn’t have possibly imagined my life without horses, it still feels strange occasionally. I miss it sometimes, but not terribly. I do wish I could go riding sometime though. I should pick on some horsey friends.

Last week one of our neighbors was away so I fed his three horses, dog, and cat. This week another neighbor is going away, so I’m feeding his seven hunting hounds. I must say, for hunting hounds, they look about as intimidating as a bunch of wombats. They’re stubby little beagles, not the taller, rangy hounds they use for foxes. Animals are just so much fun, I don’t know what we’d do without pets. As it turns out, it looks like we’ll be adopting Beowulf permanently as our own cat because Jason is being sent to Afghanistan for a year. Mom is really glad we can keep him, she has gotten quite attached. We’ve been hunting around online, looking through the shelters for dogs. We’re thinking of getting a collie from the Collie Rescue Foundation of the Carolinas. Mom has a thing for collies, she had one when she was younger that she really loved. It won’t be for another week at least, but still, it will be good to have a dog here again.

Speaking of dogs… You know when you see a semi truck without the trailer and they’re driving down the road? To me they always remind me of puppies. It’s like they have too much speed and power behind them and they’re about to trip over themselves and go tumbling in a somersault any minute like puppies do when they get going too fast. Of course, it’s funny when a puppy accidentally trips over his paws, but it would be considerably less amusing if a semi tripped over its wheels.

When I was rereading Narnia the other day I noticed that when Aslan and the White Witch are talking about the Deep Magic, Aslan mentions “what is written in letters deep as a spear is long on the trunk of the World Ash Tree”. Now, as anyone who knows their Norse mythology will tell you, the huge ash called Yggdrasil (the name actually means “the Terrible One’s horse”, and I would have named one of my horses that if I hadn’t despaired of anyone ever pronouncing it properly) is the World Tree that links and shelters the worlds and will be one of the sole survivors of Raganarok, the battle of the gods. Anyway, Lewis never gives more information on the subject. Lewis blended mythology in some pretty crazy ways, I have to say. The White Witch Jadis is supposedly descended of Lilith (the first wife of Adam in Mesopotamian myth and one seriously messed up chick) and a giant. Her minions include efreets and jinns, which are in the Koran, and ettins, which come from Anglo Saxon myth. Then you’ve got mentions of Dionysus and Bacchus, both names for the same Greek god. And do not even get me started on Father Christmas; he’s anachronistic to all the rest. All of these mythologies make for interesting reading, but I can see why Tolkien and other myth purists get frustrated with Lewis when it came to these sort of things.

And now I’ve gone and talked too much!

