Today Sarah and I went ‘splorin’ in the woods and fields behind the soccer fields and we came across a tiny old graveyard in the middle of a field. I believe I shall put pictures of it up sometime, it was very beautiful and sad. Then we went into the pine woods and found an awesome twisty vine, lots of beech trees, and a little stream which may or may not be Buies Creek. It was exceedingly lovely, and then on the way back we were walking by a maintenance guy getting all his painting gear set up to…um..paint something, presumably. BUT, the cool thing was, he had “I Believe In a Thing Called Love” by The Darkness playing! And he was singing to it! Then he turned around and there was that awkward “I thought I was alone but lo, there are people here” moment, but I yelled “I love that song, it’s great!” and he smiled and it was grand.

In other news, I was a little bit horrible to people today…at least twice I said stupid things without thinking. I *hate* it when I do that! I apologize to everyone I spoke to today! It’s not you, it’s me.

For English we have this snazzy little movie journal assignment thingy (yay, articulateness), and Sarah and I decided to grab one of the Anglo-Saxon ones. (I mean, why wouldn’t you, it’s the ANGLO-SAXONS, PEOPLE.) So we got The 13th Warrior, and I kind of really really liked it. They speak Old English (well, and Latin) and there are swords and horses and it’s quite splendid. Also there are big Northmen dudes with attitudes! Instead of conversationally asking if there is an underground chasm in the area, aforementioned Northman bellow-growls “IS THERE A CAVE!” Highly entertaining. “Hurry to meet Death before your place is taken.” You know, there is something to be said for fatalism. Also, “Keep your teeth together!” is my new favorite way to tell someone to be quiet. And now I’m going to be really cheesey and post the dramatic pre-battle we’re-all-going-to-die-but-it’s-cool-’cause-we’re-heroic quotes!

“Merciful Father, I have squandered my days with plans of many things. This was not among them. But at this moment, I beg only to live the next few minutes well. For all we ought to have thought, and have not thought; all we ought to have said, and have not said; all we ought to have done, and have not done; I pray thee God for forgiveness.”

“‘Lo, there do I see my father. ‘Lo, there do I see my mother, and my sisters, and my brothers. ‘Lo, there do I see the line of my people back to the beginning. ‘Lo, they do call to me. They bid me take my place among them in the halls of Valhalla, where the brave may live forever.”

Interesting bit of Old English trivia, the word translated as “lo” is actually hwaet, which literally means “what” but is used similarly to lo to get the reader/listener’s attention. Hey, I know these things. Although, this movie made me want to learn Old English all over again. I only have a basic working knowledge of the language, I can’t speak, write, or even really understand it. TOO MANY LANGUAGES TO LEARN!

For my Honors midterm project, I have to read a book that pertains to the “In the Beginning” Genesis class, and I’ve always wanted to read Darwin’s The Origin of Species (know thy enemy and all that jazz), so I figure this is kind of a good excuse. I started it today, but only had time for a couple pages, so I can’t really say much about it, other than Darwin for some completely incomprehensible reason reminds me vaguely of Jules Verne.

Going now…

“You got me in a spin but everything is A-Okay…” Yay for The Darkness!

