All sorts of good times with friends lately!  We had a birthday party for Sam which included a viewing of The Artist, which was brilliantly done and thoroughly entertaining.  We also got together for 1920s hairstyling, in preparation for the showing of Singin’ in the Rain on the big screen in Cary this Thursday.  Sam and I will be in costume, naturally, though we’ll probably be the only ones. : )  Yesterday we were at the Langdon farm for a massive get-together to see friends we hadn’t seen in ages, and everyone had a glorious time.  I saw fireworks with friends on both July 3rd and 4th, heard the NC Symphony play on the 4th, and have generally been having more fun than is probably permitted for any one person.

Loki from Thor is playing Prince Hal/Henry V in a miniseries based on Shakespeare’s four plays, Richard III, Henry IV parts 1 and 2, and Henry V.  Blows the mind a bit, doesn’t it?  What also blows the mind is how people continually label scenes from Henry V as being from Henry IV.

People are pretty cool:

Humor:

Things to try:

Geekery:

All the King’s Men turned out to be very well-done.  I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised; it did win a Pulitzer, after all.  I think I was sort of in the wrong mood for reading it because I felt very detached from the story, even though it was being told in a way I recognized as being one I would normally be very involved in.  The main impression I carried away from the book was, “Ah, very skillful,” even though I knew I was meant to be moved by the drama, not focusing on the writer’s skill: I just didn’t feel moved, and it wasn’t through any fault of the author.  Warren’s poetry is some of the most emotionally moving that I’ve read.  I think I just need to go back and reread this in a few years, because I really did like it very much, and I think I would love it if I read it at the right time.

I finished Monument Rock, a collection of short stories by Louis L’Amour.  Yep, I’m still working my way through all of his books that I snagged at the library sale, and I had seen the author’s name on this one and threw it in my box without looking at it too closely.  Turns out this edition is large-print, and reading it made me feel very grandmotherly.  It was kind of a nice break, though; my copy of All the King’s Men had the teensy tiniest of print.  Most of the recently published L’Amour short story collections are pulled from his early days of publication in the pulp magazines, and the stories themselves aren’t (for the most part) literary gold mines, but they’re still very enjoyable.

My philosophy discussion group is tackling the Bhagavad Gita this week, about which I knew very little until a few days ago.  I did know the famous quote that Oppenheimer was reminded of when seeing the first nuclear explosion test: “I am become death, the destroyer of worlds.”  Turns out another translation (and the one favored by the Gutenberg Project translation I was reading) is “I am Time, the destroyer of all things.”  Certainly puts a different spin on it.  The religious texts of other cultures intrigue me (I’ve always meant to read the Q’uran), and the Gita was no exception.  I foresee some lively discussion tomorrow.

